The mission of the NCHSAA is to provide governance and leadership for interscholastic athletic programs that support and enrich the educational experience of students. In keeping with that mission, the NCHSAA offers many award and recognition programs which highlight outstanding performances by our members

  • NCHSAA Athlete of the Year
    The top athletic award that any athlete in the North Carolina High School Athletic Association can earn.
  • NCHSAA Scholar-Athlete Award
    This program recognizes excellence in the classroom and on the playing court or field. The program includes recognizing varsity teams that attain specific grades and individual athletes.
  • Performance of the Week
    Each week throughout the year, the NCHSAA, with the help of a special selection committee, will select a male and female athlete based on their athletic performance from the preceding week. Nominations can be made by coaches, school administrators, or members of the media. OrthoCarolina powers this platform.
  • Student Program Awards
    Awards sponsored by NCHSAA Student Programs for student-athletes.
    • Heart of a Champion
    • Team Recognition Program
    • Spirit of Sport
  • Commissioner’s Trophy
  • NCHSAA Exemplary School Award Nomination Form
    April Deadline | This award is a cooperative venture among the NCHSAA, the North Carolina Coaches Association, and the North Carolina Athletic Directors Association. In addition to a trophy and a banner for display, each school that earns this honor receives a $ 1,000 cash award.
  • Wells Fargo Cup
  • Ejection-Free Recognition
  • Dave Harris System Athletic Director Award of Excellence
    This award launches in 2023-2024 as the principal fund has now grown to a level that allows at least one award to be made. As the fund grows over time, additional awards will be added with a goal of one day providing one award per region for eight (8) Dave Harris Awards.
  • Toby Webb Outstanding Coach Award
    Established in 2005-2006 through the NCHSAA Endowment Fund and generous donations from Toby Webb supporters, the Toby Webb ‘Outstanding Coach Award’ recognizes two outstanding coaches annually, one male and one female.
  • Homer Thompson Memorial “Eight Who Make A Difference” Award
    This award recognizes eight coaches who exemplify good sportsmanship and are positive role models for student-athletes.

Also see Grants & Scholarships