MVP Isabelle Hammond sparks game-winning rally as Cardinal Gibbons wins sixth title

DURHAM – The Cardinal Gibbons Crusaders (21-2) won their sixth North Carolina High School Athletic Association Women’s Lacrosse State Championship on Friday evening with a 15-11 win against Charlotte Catholic.   

The Crusaders struck first thanks to goals from Gracie Mullahy and Hayden Miller in the first five minutes to take a quick 2-0 lead. Cardinal Gibbons maintained a lead throughout the first half and pulled in front by four at the break with the help of goals from junior Isabelle Hammond and sophomore Ella Grimes in the last minute. 

Charlotte Catholic (17-4) came out energized after the intermission and rattled off four quick goals to tie the score at 10-10. Junior Kate Daniels, who finished the game with a game-high six goals, scored three of the four in that second-half spurt and Barbara Tucker added the other.  

Cardinal Gibbons halted the Cougars’ momentum with 13:50 left in the game when Hammond scored her fourth goal and gave her team the 11-10 lead. Hammond was named MVP of the game for her efforts on the night. That goal sparked the Crusaders to go on a run of their own and that stretch made the difference for the eventual champions. Charlotte Jackson scored with 10:28 left and Rocky Phelps added a pair to push the lead back to four.  

Junior MC Farley pulled the Cougars back within three with just under five minutes to play but the Crusaders managed the clock and added a final goal from Gracie Mullahy to put a bow on the win.  

Charlotte Catholic will end the 2023 season with its sixth Runner-Up finish.  

The NCHSAA is committed to recognizing and promoting good sportsmanship and has partnered with the NC Farm Bureau to honor two student-athletes at each of this year’s championships with Sportsmanship Awards for excellence throughout the season. The 4A Lacrosse Sportsmanship Award winners were Grace Mullahy from Cardinal Gibbons and Morgan Hernandez from Charlotte Catholic. 



Charlotte Catholic Scoring Summary Cardinal Gibbons
  0-1 23:31: G. Mullahy
  0-2 20:24: H. Miller
19:02: K.Daniels 1-2  
17:31: B. Tucker 2-2  
  2-3 17:02: A. Mullahy
  2-4 16:44: I. Hammond
15:23: K.Daniels 3-4  
  3-5 13:39: C. Jackson
  3-6 11:51: C. Jackson
11:48: M. Baumgratz 4-6  
10:36: K.Daniels 5-6  
  5-7 8:56: I. Hammond
  5-8 8:32: C. Jackson
3:34: M. Baumgratz 6-8  
  6-9 :50: I. Hammond
  6-10 :03: E. Grimes
22:55: K.Daniels 7-10  
21:56: B. Tucker 8-10  
20:09: K.Daniels 9-10  
19:09: K.Daniels 10-10  
  10-11 13:50: I. Hammond
  10-12 10:28: C. Jackson
  10-13 9:46: R. Phelps
  10-14 6:53: R. Phelps
4:47: M. Farley 11-14  
  11-15 :56: G. Mullahy