4A Men’s Basketball Championship Recap | Millbrook wins third straight OT thriller, knocks off Ardrey Kell 67-65 

TRINITY, NC – The Millbrook Wildcats are used to overtime, at least that is probably what they are telling themselves after winning their last three playoff games in overtime to capture the 4A State Championship. Millbrook held off a hard charge from Ardrey Kell to win the game 67-65 in an extra frame during a game that saw 11 ties and 10 lead changes. 

Once again, just as he did in the third-round victory over Apex Friendship, Silas Demary Jr. provided the decisive two points, this time on a layup with seven seconds remaining in overtime. Demary scored a game-high 22 points and grabbed seven rebounds to accentuate his three assists and two steals. He was selected as the Wildcats’ Most Outstanding Performer. 

Eric Van der Heijden was a force for the Wildcats as well. He dropped 21 points and has three rebounds in the game, adding three assists, a block and a steal. He was selected by media members at the game as the Charlie Adams 4A Most Valuable Player. The only other Wildcat in double figures was Redford Dunton who added 10 points and six board.

Ardrey Kell made Millbrook work throughout the game, spreading their offensive output around. Knoah Carver led the Knights with 21 points and five rebounds. He was selected as the Knights Most Outstanding Player. Other Knights in double figures included Elijah Gray and Peyton Gerald who added 18 and 14 points, respectively. 

Millbrook finished the season 19-0. The Wildcats were 12-0 in Cap 7 Conference play, winning the league title. Millbrook returned to the State Championship for the first time since their only other appearance in the state final when they fell to West Charlotte in 2011. 

Ardrey Kell’s season concluded with a 10-1 mark, they were 6-0 in the So Meck 7 4A, winning the league title. The Knights endured a 24-day pause during the year due to the suspension of athletics in Charlotte Meckleburg Schools due to COVID-19, and won the Western Regional Title for the second time in the program’s history. 

The NCHSAA is committed to promoting and honoring outstanding sportsmanship and has partnered with the NC Farm Bureau to award Sportsmanship Awards to one athlete from each of the participating teams to recognize excellence in sportsmanship throughout the year. The Sportsmanship Award winners for the game were Evan Smith from Ardrey Kell and Chris Daniels from Millbrook.