North Carolina High School Athletic Association

2023 2A and 4A Track & Field State Championships

GREENSBORO –The North Carolina High School Athletic Association conducted the 2A and 4A Men's and Women's Track and Field Championships at Marcus T. Johnson Track at the University of North Carolina A&T in Greensboro on Saturday. The 1A and 3A Championships took place yesterday, Friday, May 19. 

See recaps below and the results here. 

Cummings wins 17th Women’s Track and Field State Championship

The Cummings Cavaliers once again topped the leaderboard at the NCHSAA 2A Women’s Track and Field Championship. The 2023 title marks 17 for the Cavaliers with the first coming in 1987 and the most recent in 2019. 

On Saturday, the Cavaliers racked up 66 points, 10 points clear of South Granville in second place. Salisbury finished third with 31 points; Pine Lake Prep took fourth with 30 points and West Stanly and Farmville Central finished tied for fifth with 29.

Cummings freshman D’Anna Cotton picked up 32 points as she won the high jump with a height of 5-06 and the triple jump with a distance of 37-06.75 in addition to third-place finishes in the 100 and 300 Meter Hurdles.

South Granville’s Shawnti Johnson won the 100, 200 and 400 Meter Dashes setting new record times in each event. She also ran the anchor leg of the 4×200 meter relay team that also took first place and set a new meet record. 

MVP: 2A Women: Shawnti Jackson – South Granville

Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award Winner: 2A Women – Cummings – Taylor Jordan

Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award Winner: 2A Women – South Granville – Tania Brandon


T.W. Andrews edges Charles D. Owen for 2A Men’s Crown  

The T.W. Andrews Red Raiders took home their ninth NCHSAA Men’s Track and Field and first since 2001 as they scored two more points than Charles D. Owen on Saturday in Greensboro. 

The Red Raiders racked up 65 points, Owen tallied 63, Northeastern scored 46 to take third, Monroe scored 39 to take fourth and East Burke finished fifth with 37 points. 

T.W. Andrews junior Correy McManus won the 100 Meter Dash with a 10.56 and his teammate Ja’Neil Harris finished second with a 10.63. Harris won the 200 Meter Dash by a hundredth of a second over Cummings’ Jonathan Paylor. Harris and McManus teamed up with Jeremiah King and Ja’len Bennett to win the 4×100 Meter Relay. The Andrews relays squad would have also won the 4×200 if not for an exchange zone violation. 

For Charles D. Owen, Jaheem O’Hara won the 800 Meter Run and he was a part of the relay squad that won the 4×400 Meter Relay and the one that took second in the 4×800 Meter Relay.

MVP: 2A Men: Kenneth Byrd – East Burke

Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award Winner: 2A Men – Owen – Trevea Woodyard

Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award Winner: 2A Men – T. W. Andrews – John Shearin


Cuthbertson dominates 4A Women’s Track and Field Championships

The Cuthbertson Cavaliers won their third consecutive NCHSAA Women’s Track and Field Championship – second straight in the 4A Classification – by 20 points on Saturday. 

Cuthbertson’s 75 points topped the leaderboard and Parkland came in second with 55 points. Jack Britt took third with 43 points, Weddington came in fourth with 41 points and Rolesville finished fifth with 40 points. 

Cavalier juniors Charlotte Bell, Stella Kermes and Justine Preisano had a stellar day on the track. They took first, third and fourth in the 800 Meter Run; first, second and eighth in the 1600 Meter; and they teamed up with Josie Schihi to set a new meet record in the 4×800 Meter Relay. Bell set a new meet record in the 1600.                                               

Parkland earned a pair of first place finishes in the 4×100 and 4×200 Meter Relays. Sophomore Promise Davis and seniors Ai'yana Gray-Williams, Ziyah Etchison and Oteria Dubose won the 4×100 and Megan Hatcher joined the first-place 4×200 team. 

Myers Park junior Mary Bonner Dalton ran the 3200 Meter in 10:08.64 to beat the old 4A meet record by nine seconds.   

MVP: 4A Women: JaMeesia Ford – Jack Britt 
Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award Winner: 4A Women – Cuthbertson – Maya Studney  
Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award Winner: 4A Women – Parkland – Ai’Yana Gary-Williams

Weddington claims first 4A Men’s Track and Field Title

The Weddington Warriors came out on top of bunched leaderboard to earn their first NCHSAA 4A Men’s Track and Field title to go along with their three 3A titles. 

Weddington finished the day with 44 points, two more than Mallard Creek in second and just three more than Clayton in third. Cuthbertson took fourth with 35 points and Parkland came in fifth with 29 points.

The Warriors dominated in the Field events as senior Ryan Davis and junior Eli Clark took first and second, respectively, in the pole vault and juniors Christopher Stewart and Kolton Weaver took second and third in the shot put. Stewart also took fifth in the discus.

Weddington’s relay team of Ian Mas, Dallin Starkie, Hunter Bates and Caden Townshend picked up eight points with a second-place finish in the 4×800.

Mallard Creek’s Curtis Clark, Benjamin Black, Jayden Lee, Christian Dixon and Darren Morrison combined to set new meet records in both the 4×100 and 4×200 Meter Relays to score 20 points for their team. 

Marvin Ridge junior Adam Ridge won the 100 and 200 Meter Dashes in the wheelchair division. 

Clayton’s Dazmin James won both the 100 and 200 Meter Dashes.

Jacob Laney from Porter Ridger set a new meet record in the 3200 Meter Run by nearly two seconds and also took first in the 1600.

MVP: 4A Men: Dazmin James – Clayton
Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award Winner: 4A Men – Mallard Creek – Christian Wheeler 
Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award Winner: 4A Men  – Weddington – Ryan Davis