Wells Fargo Standings Listed For NCHSAA Through Winter Season

2011-2012 Winter Season Wells Fargo Cup Leaders Announced
Wells Fargo, along with the North Carolina High School Athletic Association, today announced the standings for winter sports in the Wells Fargo Cup competitions for the 2011-12 academic year. 
The Wells Fargo Cup, formerly known as the Wachovia Cup, is sponsored by Wells Fargo and the NCHSAA. The award recognizes the high schools that achieve the best overall interscholastic athletic performance within each of the state’s four competitive classifications. The Cup program is in its 33rd year.
Defending champion Cary Green Hope sits atop the 4-A standings with Southern Pines Pinecrest in second place, while defending Cup champion Cardinal Gibbons paces the 3-A group of schools.  Carrboro holds the top position among 2-A schools, and the North Carolina School of Science and Math and Bishop McGuiness are one-two in the 1-A classification standings.
Green Hope, which finished third in women’s indoor track and claimed a top five finish in women’s swimming and diving to go with a quarterfinal spot in women’s basketball, increased its tally to 322.5 points and maintain an advantage of 80 points over Southern Pines Pinecrest.  Pinecrest was the state runner-up in dual team wrestling and also placed seventh in 4-A women’s indoor track.
Charlotte Myers Park is in third place with 237.5 points, while Charlotte Ardrey Kell (215) is fourth and Raleigh Broughton  (205) fifth.
Cardinal Gibbons enjoyed another great season this winter, capturing top spots in both 3-A men’s indoor track and men’s swimming. The Crusaders also earned a fourth-place finish in women’s indoor track to bring their total points to 517.5. Marvin Ridge has a total of 362.5 points for second place, paced by runner-up finishes in both men’s indoor track and women’s swimming and with two third-place slots in women’s indoor track and men’s swimming. 
Charlotte Catholic is in third with 322.5 points, followed by Chapel Hill (280) and Asheville (207.5).  
Carrboro has pulled ahead in the 2-A standings with a total of 322.5 points. Carrboro’s top winter performances included two state championships in both men’s and women’s swimming. Shelby moved up to second with 275 points, getting help from a runner-up finish in men’s swimming, a sixth-place among 2-A schools in women’s swimming, reaching the semifinals in men’s basketball.
  North Lincoln is third with 265 points, followed by Salisbury (262.5) and Cuthbertson (250).  
 In the 1-A classification, the North Carolina School of Science and Math scored playoff points in five different sports. NCSSSM captured the top 1-A spot in men’s indoor track while placing in the top five in both men’s and women’s swimming and a sixth place among 1-A schools in women’s indoor track.  Those performances helped power NCSSM to maintain the top spot in 1-A with 410 points. 
Kernersville Bishop McGuinness is in second with 322.5 points. The Villains’ athletic teams had a state championship win in women’s basketball, a runner-up finish in men’s swimming and a third-place finish in women’s swimming at the 1-A level.
Lake Norman Charter, led by a first-place finish among 1-A schools in men’s swimming and second in women’s swimming, tallied 275 points for third overall in the standings. Hendersonville, winner of the most Cups with 13, is fourth with 247.5 points and West Wilkes is fifth at 210.
Wells Fargo Cup points are determined by a system based on performance in state championship events. All schools that finish in the top eight positions (plus ties) earn points. In the playoff events involving teams from more than one classification, Wells Fargo Cup points are awarded based on the school’s standing against other schools in its own classification. If fewer then eight schools from a classification compete in a sport, only those schools that are represented are eligible to receive the Wells Fargo Cup points. 
Points are awarded for all sports as follows: 50 for first, 45 for second, 40 for third, 35 for fourth, 30 for fifth, 25 for sixth, 20 for seventh and 15 for eighth. In the event of a tie, the schools receive an equal number of points based on the number of teams that tie and the number of teams that finish higher in the standings. Five points are awarded for each sanctioned sport in which a school competes. 
Wells Fargo Cup standings are announced three times each school year: once after the fall, again after the winter sports, and then concluding with the winner after the spring sports season ends in June. The engraved silver cups are customarily presented during NCHSAA Day activities at UNC-Chapel Hill each fall.
1. N.C. School of Science and Math 410
2. Kernersville Bishop McGuinness 322.5
3. Lake Norman Charter 275
4. Hendersonville 247.5
5. West Wilkes 210
6. Monroe 200
7. Raleigh Charter 195
8. Elkin 170
9. Ayden-Grifton 160
    Murphy 160
11. North Stokes 150
12. Mitchell 142.5
13. Lakewood 132.5
      North Rowan 132.5
15. Thomas Jefferson Classical 127.5
1. Carrboro 322.5
2. Shelby 275
3. North Lincoln 265
4.  Salisbury 262.5
5. Waxhaw Cuthbertson 250
6. Burlington Cummings 215
7. Kinston 182.5
8. Pittsboro Northwood 177.5
9. Hillsborough Cedar Ridge 170
10. Wilson Beddingfield 167.5
11. North Surry 160
      Durham School of the Arts 160
      Croatan 160
14. Newton-Conover 147.5
15. Bandys 142.5
      East Lincoln 142.5
      West Davidson 142.5
1. Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 517.5
2. Waxhaw Marvin Ridge 362.5
3. Charlotte Catholic 322.5
4. Chapel Hill 280
5. Asheville 207.5
6. Rocky Mount 200
7. Orange 195
8. Hickory 187.5
    West Carteret 187.5
    Northern Guilford 187.5
11. Weddington 177.5
12. Jay M. Robinson 162.5
13. Burlington Williams 160
14. North Buncombe 150
15. Berry Academy 132.5
1.  Cary Green Hope 322.5
2. Southern Pines Pinecrest 242.5
3.  Charlotte Myers Park 237.5
4.  Charlotte Ardrey Kell 215
5.  Raleigh Broughton 205
6. Charlotte Providence 192.5
    Watauga 192.5
8. Charlotte Hough 187.5
9. Pfafftown Reagan 185
10. Asheville T.C. Roberson 182.5
11. Raleigh Millbrook 167.5
     Winston-Salem Mount Tabor 167.5
13. New Bern 160
14. Cary 157.5
15. Raleigh Leesville Road 152.5
      Raleigh Panther Creek 152.5