North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Tickets Available For NCHSAA Hall Of Fame


CHAPEL HILL—An event that has become a highlight of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association year is scheduled for Saturday, April 16.

The annual NCHSAA Hall of Fame banquet and induction ceremonies are set for the  Friday Center on the campus of the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill, with dinner starting at 6 p.m. Tickets for the general public are fifty dollars each and can be ordered by contacting the NCHSAA office at 919-240-7401.

  Tickets may also be purchased on line through the NCHSAA web site at its online store.

Honorees at this year’s event will include:

• Harvey Brooks: an outstanding coach in several sports over 40 years and several different stops, including 15 years at Princeton; his football coaching mark was 238-99-3 with 24 league titles.

• Alton “Tunney” Brooks: this coach compiled an impressive record in several sports, coaching at both Edenton Holmes and at Lumberton; his basketball teams won 291 games and he was also athletic director at Lumberton for 30 years.

• Tom Brown: one of the state’s top football coaches, Brown was an outstanding athlete at Lenoir-Rhyne College in Hickory and went on to record 352 football coaching victories, including 330 in 35 years at Maiden.

• Bob Catapano: one of the state’s top soccer coaches as well as athletic administrators, Catapano served as Sanderson High School in Raleigh. His career coaching mark was an incredible 363-44-21, including a then national record 103 consecutive games without a loss.

• Joe Hunt: the late Joe Hunt compiled an outstanding record as a head football coach in western North Carolina, both at Sylva-Webster and at Hendersonville; he also served on the NCHSAA Board of Directors.

• Carolyn Rogers: a graduate of Western Carolina, this coach has spent most of her career at Perquimans High School, including 21 years and over 300 victories in volleyball. She has also been very involved in the NCHSAA Student Services program.

• Que Tucker: a resident of Morrisville, this successful coach is the deputy commissioner of the NCHSAA, where she has worked since 1991. She coached at Reidsville High and also at N.C. State University and she has also played key roles on the national level.

GlaxoSmithKline provided an initial gift to help underwrite the NCHSAA Hall of Fame, enabling it to honor individuals who have spent a lifetime in education. It is one of the Association’s most prestigious accolades.

The NCHSAA Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to high school athletics in North Carolina. This marks the 24th induction class for the NCHSAA Hall of Fame, which now numbers 132. Each new inductee will be introduced by a special video presentation and will receive a commemorative NCHSAA Hall of Fame ring in honor of the induction.

“We hope that the communities represented by these outstanding individuals would be present to support those who have meant so much to so many people,” said Davis Whitfield, NCHSAA commissioner. “The Hall of Fame ceremonies have evolved into a first-class event and it is a great opportunity for former players and other supporters of these honorees to gather together.”