North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Terry Sanford High School named the 2018-19 Exemplary School Award Winner

CHAPEL HILL – The North Carolina High School Athletic Association announced the selection of Terry Sanford High School in Fayetteville as the 2018-19 Exemplary School Award winner during the Annual Meeting on May 2, 2019 at the Dean E. Smith Center in Chapel Hill. 

This award is presented annually from nominations received from member schools. The awards are given as a cooperative venture among the NCHSAA, the North Carolina Coaches Association and the North Carolina Athletic Directors Association. In addition to a trophy and a banner for display at the respective schools, each school receives a $1000 cash award.

The Exemplary School Award recognizes the top overall school in the state in terms of the “total program,” including but not limited to athletic success, the scope of athletic opportunities offered, facilities, community interest and involvement, academics and the like. The award was revamped this year to include measurements of commitment to participation in NCHSAA programs and opportunities, the school’s sportsmanship profiles, as well as professional development of administrators. 

Terry Sanford ranked highly among nominees with 17 coaches of the school's 40 having completed AIC or CIC Coaching Certifications. The school also is a regular participant in NCHSAA Student Services and Special Programs like the Scholar-Athlete Awards, Student Leadership Conference, NCHSAA Scholarship Applications and Performance of the Week Nominees. 

Fayetteville Terry Sanford, home of the Bulldogs, has a winning tradition that encompasses the school’s 107-year history. This includes multiple conference and state championships. Each year many Terry Sanford athletes have demonstrated the ability to play at the collegiate and professional levels. Terry Sanford coaching staff takes pride in being a family. They work tirelessly with parents, alumni and the greater Fayetteville community to build and maintain Bulldog excitement and pride. Their coaching staff expects all athletes to maintain excellence in the classroom as well. This year’s class of athletes has a combined GPA of 3.44.

Terry Sanford Athletic Director, Elizabeth McGowan, and Cumberland County Schools System Athletic Director, Vernon Aldridge, accepted the award on behalf of the school and are pictured with NCHSAA Commissioner Que Tucker and NCHSAA President Sandy George, Principal of Mt. Airy High School.