Sportsmanship Recognition For NCHSAA Student-athletes

Sportsmanship Recognition for NCHSAA Student-Athletes As “Heart Of A Champion” Winners Honored

CHAPEL HILL—A total of 27 student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools have been recognized for their outstanding sportsmanship as winners of “Heart of a Champion” recognition.

The sportsmanship recognition is part of the program offered by the NCHSAA Student Services Division and is sponsored by the North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company. Mark Dreibelbis, NCHSAA assistant executive director, and student services assistant Chiquana Dancy administer the program.

Each of the NCHSAA member schools had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the recognition. The students must have participated in at least one varsity sport, including cheerleading, during the 2008-09 school year, have not been ejected from any contest, and must have demonstrated outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship during their high school careers. The students filled out an application questionnaire and then a school official, such as the principal or athletic director, also provided an evaluation.

The students will be honored at a luncheon on Saturday, June 13, at the Radisson Governors’ Inn in the Research Triangle Park.

North Carolina Farm Bureau Heart of a Champion 2009 Honorees:

Student Athlete School Nominator

Drew Absher Davie County Mike Absher

Christina Alevizatos Raleigh Millbrook Shannon Poole, Kathy Stefanou

Morgan Baldwin South Stanly Elizabeth Nichols

Shelly Barker Ashe County Laura Foster

Whitney Boykin Clinton Chris Owens

Megan Carper Franklinton Lindsay DeHart

Michelle Cox Ayden-Grifton Kathy Frazier

Ashley Davis Raleigh Sanderson Robert Catapano

Jonathon Dockery Alexander Central Tom Harper

Michael Gatton West Iredell Mark Weycker

Colin Gray Matthews David Butler Janet Prevatte

Marco Gupton West Rowan David Hunt

Leslie Hopper Asheville Clyde Erwin David Ball

Laura Icenhour Matthews David Butler Janet Prevatte

KaRonne Jones Fayetteville Cape Fear Anthony McMillan

Juli Leon Jamestown Ragsdale Brien Braswell

Jacob Lewis North Johnston Thomas Nelson

Hayleigh Maher Manteo Michael Dobbs

Kristin Maney McDowell Brian Franklin

Timmy McCall Hope Mills South View James Parker IV

Christopher Seager Asheville Clyde Erwin David Ball

Elizabeth Stephenson Greenville Rose Marie Lewis

Jake Stevens South Stanly Elizabeth Nichols

Emily Talley West Stanly Wendy Tucker

Kelsey Thrasher Lake Norman Steve Rankin

Nathaniel Touchberry Raleigh Millbrook Scott McInnes

Tyler Westall West Stanly Wendy Tucker