North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Sportsmanship Recognition for NCHSAA Student-Athletes As “Heart Of A Champion” Winners Named

             CHAPEL HILL—A total of 19 student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools will be honored for their outstanding sportsmanship as winners of “Heart of a Champion” recognition.

             The students will be honored Saturday at a luncheon at the Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel.

             The sportsmanship recognition is part of the program offered by the NCHSAA Student Services Division and is sponsored by the North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company.  Mark Dreibelbis, NCHSAA assistant commissioner, and assistant director for student services Chiquana Dancy administer the program.

             Each of the NCHSAA member schools had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the recognition. The students must have participated in at least one varsity sport or activity, including cheerleading, during the 2014-15 school year,  have not been ejected from any contest, and must have demonstrated outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship during their high school careers.

            The students filled out an application questionnaire and then a school official, such as the principal or athletic director, also provided an evaluation.   

            "We are proud of the achievements of this select group of student-athletes," said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield. "With recognitions such as these, we are continuing our emphasis on sportsmanship and the important lessons high school athletics teach."


North Carolina Farm Bureau Heart of a Champion 2014-15 Honorees:

Student Athlete      School                  Nominator

Jaylen Barnes          Durham Jordan      Shelba Levins

Sophia Bhalla          Lincoln Charter       Joshua Williams

Kyran Bowman        Havelock               Daniel Griffee

Candice Corcoran   Eden Morehead      Daniel Villa

Lauren Davis           Clyde Erwin            David Ball

Haylee Gee              West Iredell            Buck Gannon

Sydney Gilliam        Hendersonville        B.J. Laughter

Hannah Harvey        North Iredell           Darla Cline

Amity Ikard              Maiden                   Jessica Frye, Debbie Moose, Miranda Rowe

Stephen Mabe          North Wilkes           Michael Greene, Marty Behrens

Micah Marcin            Durham Jordan       Shelba Levins

Sophia McFarlane     Central Cabarrus     Brandon Blalock

Tyler McHargue        West Iredell             Buck Gatton

Andrew Moore          Mount Airy              Cody Atkins

William Myers IV        Clyde Erwin            David Ball

Amber Stallings         Perquimans            Laura Moreland

Parker Williams          West Rowan            Todd Bell

Kaitlyn Wood             Smoky Mountain      Eric Toedtman

Taylor Wyatt              North Wilkes            Michael Greene,Marty Behrens