Sportsmanship Recognition For NCHSAA Student-Athletes As “Heart Of A Champion” Winners Honored

                  CHAPEL HILL—A total of 15 student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools have been honored for their outstanding sportsmanship as winners of “Heart of a Champion” recognition.

            The sportsmanship recognition is part of the program offered by the NCHSAA Student Services Division and is sponsored by the North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company.  Mark Dreibelbis, NCHSAA assistant commissioner, and assistant director for student services Chiquana Dancy administer the program.

            Each of the NCHSAA member schools had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the recognition. The students must have participated in at least one varsity sport or activity, including cheerleading, during the 2013-14 school year, have not been ejected from any contest, and must have demonstrated outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship during their high school careers. The students filled out an application questionnaire and then a school official, such as the principal or athletic director, also provided an evaluation.

            The students were honored at a luncheon on Saturday at the Fairfield Inn and Suites in Durham.

            "We are proud of the achievements of this select group of student-athletes," said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield. "With recognitions such as these, we are continuing our emphasis on sportsmanship and the important lessons high school athletics teach."



North Carolina Farm Bureau Heart of a Champion 2013-14 Honorees:

Mark Bedard          East Gaston         Tom Adams
Jared Buddington   Cedar Ridge        Jennifer Pepin
Drake Buxton         Enloe                  Bob Anderson
Kiana Davis-Hill     Albemarle           Joanne Hesley, Eric Davis
Rahshaun Elliott     Rocky Mount      Michael Gainey
Martha Farrell         Woods Charter   Graeme Stewart
Sarah Hinson          Northern Nash    Patricia Haggerty
Ben Hodges            Clyde Erwin         David Ball
Jac´quez Jackson    West Rowan        Todd Bell
Tommy Johnson     Woods Charter     Jim Malone
Natalie Kerley          West Iredell        Buck Gatton
Molly Kerr               Clyde Erwin        David Ball
Maria Meyer            North Wilkes      Dave Haynie
Rebecca Parker        West Rowan       Todd Bell
Payton Shuford        West Wilkes       Buck Gatton