North Carolina High School Athletic Association

R.j. Reynolds Wins 2nd Straight NCHSAA 4-A Men’s Dual Team Tennis Crown




BURLINGTON —  Winston-Salem R.J. Reynolds won its second consecutive state championship in convincing fashion on Saturday in the 21st annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state men’s dual team tennis championships at the Burlington Tennis Center.

Reynolds, in its third straight 4-A championship match, blanked East Chapel Hill by a 5-0 count, the match halted when the Demons clinched the title. Despite the final score, it was very competitive, as three sets went to a tiebreaker.

Robbie Mudge of R.J. Reynolds, who had won the 4-A singles title last weekend, was a straight set winner over East’s Peter McDonald at the number-one slot.

East Chapel Hill made its 12th appearance in the dual team finals and has previously won eight state dual team titles, the last one in 2008. The Wildcats ended with a 19-2 mark while Reynolds wrapped up a 21-1 campaign.

Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons swept all six singles matches in blanking Charlotte Catholic 6-0 for the 3-A championship. Matt Daly of Gibbons defeated Kyle Johnson of Catholic, who won the 3-A singles title last weekend, in the number-one singles and the Crusaders rolled from there.

Gibbons won for the 26th time in 28 starts while Catholic finished its season 11-5 in dual team play.

Newton-Conover stormed to its second consecutive state 2-A title, rolling past the Durham School of the Arts 6-0.

The Red Devils, making a fifth straight appearance in the championship match, won in dominating fashion. Newton-Conover won all six singles matches in straight sets and either won at love or dropped only one game in nine of the 12 sets contested.

Newton-Conover finished the dual team season with a 25-2 mark while DSA ended 16-6.

Kernersville Bishop McGuinness, which defeated Gastonia Highland Tech on Friday in the regionals to advance to the state championship, topped Durham’s North Carolina School of Science and Math 5-2 in the 1-A final.

Bishop won four of the six singles matches and then clinched the crown when Noveed Foroudi and Lane Kiser teamed to win the second doubles match.

It was the only loss of the season for NCSSM, which finished 18-1, while Bishop McGuinness wound up 17-1 overall.



Burlington Tennis Center—Saturday’s Results                        

CLASS 1-A: Kernersville Bishop McGuinness 5, Durham North Carolina School of Science and Math 2

Singles: Russell Turner (NCSSM) def. Joseph Riazzi 6-0, 6-1; Kevin Weckworth (BM) def. Kevin Huang 6-4, 6-1; Naveed Foroudi (BM) def. Erick Lee 6-3, 6-4; Justin Harden (NCSSM) def. Lane Kiser 4-6, 7-6 (7), (10-5), Conor Wilson (BM) def. Andrew Wu 6-4, 6-3; Michael Domabyl (BM) def. Brian Iezzi 6-0, 6-1.

Doubles: Riazzi-Weckworth (BM) led Turner-Huang 6-4 when match halted with championship decided; Foroudi-Kiser (BM) def. Lee-Wu 10-3; Harden-Iezzi (NCSSM) led Wilson-John Abram 6-4 when match halted with championship decided.             

CLASS 2-A: Newton-Conover 6, Durham School of the Arts 0

Singles: Hang Lak Choi (NC) def. Emerson Ellis 6-3, 6-1; John Reid (NC) def. Drew Guerra 6-3, 6-1; Austin Adams (NC) def. J.P. Gemborys 6-4, 6-0; Ryan Lampe (NC) def. Robbie Tepperberg 6-0, 6-0; John Tate (NC) def. Owen Ryan 6-1, 6-1; Tyler Barrymore (NC) def. Charles Realabit 6-1, 6-0.           

Doubles not played with championship decided.

CLASS 3-A: Cardinal Gibbons 6, Charlotte Catholic 0

Singles: Matt Daly (CG) def. Kyle Johnson 6-4, 7-6(4); Chris Geaslen (CG) def. Nick Bursch 6-2, 6-3; Killian Steer (CG) def. Matthew Martinez 6-1, 6-4; Greg Galush (CG) def.  Zach Sachee 6-0, 6-1; Pierce Beary (CG) def. Brian Vercauteren 6-1, 6-1; Andrew Rinderer (CG) def. Forrest Boone 6-3, 7-6 (3).

Doubles not played with championship decided.

CLASS 4-A: Winston-Salem R.J. Reynolds 5, East Chapel Hill 0             

Singles: Robbie Mudge (RJR) def. Peter McDonald 6-1, 6-3; Dillion Segur (RJR) led Sam Weissler 7-6 (4), 5-5 when match halted with championship decided; Chad Hoskins (RJR) def. Kassim Alani 7-6 (6), 6-3; Parker Chang (RJR) def. Carl Solik 6-3, 6-0; Dale Fetterman (RJR) def. Ben Gerber 6-0, 6-3; Paul Yamane (RJR) def. Max Smith 6-4, 7-6(4).

Doubles not played with championship decided.