North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Raybon named Morris Walker Development Award winner for 2018

The Morris Walker Development Award was created to help recognize individuals and groups that have helped to build the endowment for the NCHSAA. Through the endowment, these groups and individuals help provide the exceptional quality of championships, scholarship and leadership programs we enjoy in North Carolina. This year we recognize two individuals who have contributed greatly to the NCHSAA through partnership.

This year’s Morris Walker Development Award goes to Mike Raybon from Jamestown.

Coach Raybon is a member of the NCHSAA Hall of Fame following a career at Ragsdale High School where he was the head wrestling coach. After starting the program there, Raybon’s teams posted a record of 216-45-2, including seven unbeaten seasons, 14 conference championships and three state titles.

He served as an assistant principal at Ragsdale and Southwest Guilford as well as an athletic director during his career, and even officiated wrestling for over 30 years.  Coach Raybon has been a dedicated supporter of the NCHSAA endowment, contributing to the endowment each year for the past 19 straight years, to help support NCHSAA scholarships and programs.