2008 NCHSAA Cheerleading Invitational



RALEIGH— Jamestown Ragsdale captured the top honor, the Carolina Cup, in the sixth annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state invitational cheerleading championships at the Raleigh Convention Center on Saturday.

Cheer Ltd., Inc., one of the NCHSAA’s corporate partners that assists with the invitational championship, established the Carolina Cup to recognize annually the top high school varsity cheerleading team in the state. Cardinal Gibbons won the Cup for earning the highest cumulative score in the whole competition among varsity teams, regardless of the division in which they compete. Cardinal Gibbons, North Gaston and Raleigh Sanderson are the previous winners of the Carolina Cup.

Ragsdale won the super varsity division en route to winning the Carolina Cup. It was the third straight year the school had taken first place in at least one division of the competition.

Davie County took top honors in the small varsity co-ed class while Waxhaw Marvin Ridge won the super large varsity category.

Cherryville was the winner in the large varsity division, while Huntersville Hopewell captured top honors in the medium varsity category and Wilson Hunt was first in the small varsity category.

In non-tumble competition, Dixon was the champion in the small varsity and North Buncombe was the top team in the large varsity division.

Among the junior varsity teams competing, Raleigh Millbrook took top honors in the large JV division, Fuquay-Varina won the small JV, and Canton Pisgah won the junior varsity non-tumble.

A record number of 115 teams participated in the event.


6th annual Invitational Cheerleading Championship

Raleigh Convention Center

November 8, 2008

Final results:

Small junior varsity (5 to 15 members)

Champion— Fuquay-Varina 223.5

Monroe Piedmont 220.5

Harnett Central 208.5

Richlands 206.5

North Johnston 202.5

Fayetteville Pine Forest 201

Wilson Hunt 192.5

Large junior varsity (16 and up)

Champion— Raleigh Millbrook 220

Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 219

Overhills 215.5

Greenville D.H. Conley 214.5

Currituck 214

Jacksonville White Oak 208.5

Wilmington Hoggard 207

Havelock 196.5

Junior varsity non-tumble

Champion—Canton Pisgah 225

SouthWest Edgecombe 203.5

Lumberton 200

Burnsville Mountain Heritage 198.5

North Lincoln 198.5

Cameron Union Pines 196.5

Hope Mills South View 195.5

North Wilkes 190

Small varsity non-tumble (19 and fewer)

Champion— Dixon 229

Wilson Fike 227

Cape Hatteras 225.5

Burnsville Mountain Heritage 225.5

Pamlico 225

Large varsity non-tumble (20 and up)

Champion— North Buncombe 251.5

East Bend Forbush 247

Hampstead Topsail 245.5

Elizabeth City Northeastern 240.5

East Duplin 235

Camden 235

Seven Springs Spring Creek 234.5

West Wilkes 232.5

North Pitt 229

Jacksonville White Oak 228

Ashe County 227

North Iredell 225.5

Lejeune 223

Pender 221

North Wilkes 216

West Craven 215.5

North Brunswick 214

Small varsity (5 to 12 members)

Champion— Wilson Hunt 232.5

South Iredell 231.5

Wilmington Hoggard 228

Fairmont 226

West Iredell 220

Wilson Beddingfield 219.5

Medium varsity (13 to 16 members)

Champion—Huntersville Hopewell 253

Charlotte Providence 247.5

North Lincoln 245.5

Jacksonville 244.5

Charlotte Myers Park 244

East Davidson 240

Cary 239.5

Monroe Sun Valley 238

Asheville Clyde Erwin 237

East Mecklenburg 232

Spring Lake Overhills 231.5

Charlotte Ardrey Kell 230.5

South Brunswick 229.5

Newport Croatan 228.5

Princeton 227.5

Indian Trail Porter Ridge 223

Fayetteville Pine Forest 221.5

North Johnston 219.5

Large varsity (17 to19 members)

Champion—Cherryville 256.5

South Caldwell 251

Raleigh Sanderson 242.5

Fayetteville Terry Sanford 235.5

Currituck 235

Canton Pisgah 235

Richlands 235

Morganton Patton 229

Morrisville Green Hope 228.5

Swansboro 227.5

Holly Springs 227

Marshville Forest Hills 226

Southern Wayne 225

Knightdale 225

Havelock 225

Bunn 225

West Brunswick 222.5

Franklinton 216.5

Super varsity (20 to 21 members)

Champion— Jamestown Ragsdale 262.5

North Gaston 254.5

Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 248.5

Weddington 247.5

Greenville D.H. Conley 245.5

Apex 240.5

Fuquay-Varina 240

Hope Mills South View 237.5

Newton Grove Midway 233.5

Fayetteville Seventy-First 232

Harnett Central 230

Super large varsity (22-plus members)

Champion— Waxhaw Marvin Ridge 259

Pikeville C.B. Aycock 249

Raleigh Broughton 247.5

New Bern 236.5

Charlotte Catholic 235

Eden Morehead 232

Small varsity coed (2 to 4 males)

Champion— Davie County 243.5

Lumberton 232.5

Pembroke Purnell Swett 229

Northern Nash 218