Pairings Set For Women’s State Tennis Tournaments


       CHAPEL HILL – Championships in singles and doubles in four different classifications are up for grabs this weekend as the North Carolina High School Athletic Association holds its annual women’s tennis tournament championships at four different sites.

       Semifinalists in both singles and doubles at the regional level qualify for the state championships. 

       The 4-A championships are scheduled for the Millbrook Exchange Park in Raleigh, while the 3-A event will be held at the Burlington Parks and Recreation Tennis Center. The 2-A and 1-A championships are both set for the Cary Tennis Center.

       Action will get underway in most classifications on Friday morning with the opening round of play at 9 a.m. Two rounds will be played on Friday, with the semifinals Saturday morning and the championship matches on Saturday afternoon. Since the field is smaller for the 1-A tournament, the only Saturday matches will be the championships Saturday morning at 9 a.m.

       MacKenzie LaSure of Asheville will be seeking her second straight singles championship in the 3-A classification. Maggie Kane and Katie Kane of Raleigh Broughton are the defending 4-A doubles champions, and Katie Kane is gunning for a share of her third straight doubles title, having teamed with Asha Iyengar to win the ’09 crown.

       The two singles finalists in 2-A from 2010 have qualified for this year’s field, as Hillary Lutz of Shelby beat Salisbury’s Katelyn Storey in last year’s championship match.

       More tennis finals are scheduled for next week, as all four classes of the women’s dual team tennis championships will be November 5 at the Burlington Tennis Center.



NCHSAA FastFacts

Event: NCHSAA Women’s Tennis Tournament Championships

Date: October 28-29, 2011

Site: 1-A: Cary Tennis Center; 2-A: Cary Tennis Center; 3-A: Burlington Parks and Recreation Tennis Center; 4-A: Millbrook Exchange Park, Raleigh

First Held: 1970

Qualifiers: Semifinalists in both singles and doubles at the regional level qualify for the state events

Of Interest: Laura Cowman of Charlotte Catholic (1989-92), Julianne Treme of Salisbury (1993-96), Jackie Houston of Kings Mountain (1993-96), Britney Cloer of Brevard and then West Henderson (2003-06) are all four-time NCHSAA women’s singles champions.



OCTOBER 28-29, 2011



Jordan Jackson (Mount Airy) vs. Kinsey Bloung (Durham Voyager Academy)

Krissy O’Brien (Lejeune) vs. Merry Kessler (Mount Airy)

Alice Huang (NC School of Science and Math) vs. Megan Hedgepath (Misenheimer Gray Stone Day)

Jessica Rumple (East Wilkes) vs. Shannon Powers (Raleigh Charter)


Davi Barbour-Haley Thomas (Mount Airy) vs. Autumn Shields-Ashley Spivey (Saxapahaw River Mill Academy)

Sarah Parsons-Abigail Armstrong (NC School of Science and Math) vs. Delana Hinson-Samantha Kellis (East Montgomery)

Janice Wong-Anna Page (NC School of Science and Math) vs. Kaylee Brown-Ashlyn Reece (Elkin)

Elizabeth Dinkins-Jade Hughes (Mount Airy) vs. Kellun Edwards-Carson Peele (Riverside-Martin)


Singles—First Round

Morgan Sheehan (Swansboro) vs. Jessica VanLeuvan (Wheatmore)

Katelyn Storey (Salisbury) vs. Hunter Hall (Brevard)

Danielle Sawyer (Carrboro) vs. Kate Power (Kill Devil Hills First Flight)

Hilary Lutz (Shelby) vs. Madaline Hoskins (Salisbury)

Carson Shell (Catawba Bandys) vs. Lauren Delbridge (Wilkes Central)

Sondra Anton (Carrboro) vs. Julie Hayes (Tarboro)

Kalli Karas (Cuthbertson) vs. Penny Lane Buckner (Burnsville Mountain Heritage)

Danielle McGee (Hampstead Topsail) vs. Emma Newburg (Hillsborough Cedar Ridge)

Doubles—First Round

Paige Chase-Ali Jones (Kill Devil Hills First Flight) vs. Lindsay Tate-Bethany Pyrtle (Siler City Jordan-Matthews)

Sallie Kate Mayerhoeffer-Alexandra Drye (Salisbury) vs. Emma McLeod-Taylor Snowdon (Brevard)

Anna Kankanala-Hannah Marion (Hillsborough Cedar Ridge) vs. Ashton Taylor-Katie Yingling (Swansboro)

Molly Black-Abby Black (Maiden) vs. Haley Maloney-Anna Wooten (Ashe County)

Nancy Bridges-Emily Bridges (Shelby) vs. Melinda Athay-Rachel Tam (West Davidson)

Dzidzai Muyengwa-Rebecca White (Roanoke Rapids) vs. Jessica Hatch-Hayes Lovett (Greene Central)

Joy Loeblein-Erika Nelson (Salisbury) vs. Shaunasie Adams-Michaela Lashley (North Lincoln)

Molly High-Callie Copeland (Edenton Holmes) vs. Delaney King-Megan Mauriello (Hillsborough Cedar Ridge)


Singles—First Round

Summer Philips (South Brunswick) vs. Erin Meyer (Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons)

Grace Deering (Charlotte Catholic) vs. Amy Burch (Boiling Springs Crest)

Mari Fujino (Northern Guilford) vs. Mackenzie Warner (Rocky Mount)

Alix Theodossiou (Asheville) vs. Elizabeth Weaver (East Rowan)

MacKenzie LaSure (Asheville) vs. Imani Fountain (Concord Cox Mill)

Caroline Lindsey (Rockingham County) vs. Grace Delbridge (Eastern Wayne)

Jasmine Gabriel (Weddington) vs. Taylor Fredrickson (Morganton Patton)

Savannah Sutton (Eastern Wayne) vs. Claire Dockrill (Western Alamance)

Doubles—First Round

Randi Price-Kaley Price (Nash Central) vs. Devin Knors-Natalie Freeman (Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons)

Christine Kessel-Audrey Kessel (Charlotte Catholic) vs. Claudia Steffey-Hope McIntosh (Gastonia Ashbrook)

Lauren Brooker-Caroline Smith (Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons) vs. Katie Gurley-Misty Edwards (Pikeville C.B. Aycock)

Katie Rogers-Nikki Valley (Franklin) vs. JeNey Carrothers-Jasmine Carrothers (Charlotte Harding)

Andrea Bell-Savannah Herman (Franklin) vs. Kelly Dulkoski-Hannah Shinn (China Grove Jesse Carson)

Rosheny Edathil-Sydney Brooks (Burlington Williams) vs. Dana Kelly-Caley Bass (Nash Central)

Heidi Swope-Casey Rowe (Weddington), bye

Brooke Barfield-Ashton Walker (Pikeville C.B. Aycock) vs. Danielle Cohen-Nicole Chang (Chapel Hil


Singles—First Round

McKayla Zupan (Wilmington Hoggard) vs. Lauren McCroquodale (Raleigh Millbrook)

Astrid Pascua (Greensboro Grimsley) vs. Hollie Champion (Matthews Butler)

Sarah King (Raleigh Broughton) vs. Helen Zhang (Fayetteville Terry Sanford)

Jessica Perez (Charlotte Myers Park) vs. Montse Mesalles (Pfafftown Ronald Reagan)

Katie Porter (Charlotte Providence) vs. Christina Woodard (Winston-Salem R.J. Reynolds)

Audrey Channell (Cary Green Hope) vs. Marisa Pereira (Fayetteville Jack Britt)

Hannah Templeton (Greensboro Page) vs. Hannah Petersen (Watauga)

Tyler Baker (Fayetteville Terry Sanford) vs. Megan Smith (Cary Panther Creek)

Doubles—First Round

Ann Hodges-Caitlin Neal (Wilmington Hoggard) vs. Helen Wang-Priyanka Srinivas (Cary Green Hope)

Kindell Schmitt-Jessica Davis (West Forsyth) vs. Erin Roberts-Kat Winkenwerder (T.C. Roberson)

Katie Kane-Maggie Kane (Raleigh Broughton) vs. Caroline Decker-Chrissy Nurnberg (Southern Pines Pinecrest)

Constance Crisp-Sydney Rapier (Lake Norman) vs. Carolina Chao-Adair Clark (Greensboro Grimsley)

Emily Carpenter-Olivia Turnbull (Charlotte Myers Park) vs. Allie Billings-Jennifer Webster (Davie)

Asha Iyengar-Kelsey Boole (Raleigh Broughton) vs. Claire Lieberman-Trisha Slehria (Fayetteville Terry Sanford)

Clare Cox-Roxanne Henshall (Greensboro Grimsley) vs. Erika Noblett-Shelby Winchester (East Gaston)

Emma Caroline Edge-Laura Hatcher (Fayetteville Terry Sanford) vs. Jasmine Sun-Sheila Deng (East Chapel Hill)