North Carolina High School Athletic Association

2006 NCHSAA Cheerleading Invitational

RALEIGH— North Gaston took top honors in the large varsity division and also captured the Carolina Cup in the fourth annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state invitational cheerleading championships at Reynolds Coliseum on Saturday.

Cheer Ltd., Inc., one of the NCHSAA’s corporate partners that assists with the invitational championship, established the Carolina Cup to recognize annually the top high school varsity cheerleading team in the state. North Gaston won the Cup for earning the highest cumulative score in the whole competition among varsity teams, regardless of the division in which it competes. Raleigh Sanderson won the Cup a year ago in its inaugural presentation.

Lake Norman became the only four-time winner in the history of the event, winning the small varsity division after taking top honors in the super large varsity division for squads of 22 or more members in every previous NCHSAA invitational.

Matthews David Butler earned the title in the medium varsity division for the third year in a row and Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons took the crown in the super varsity division.

In coed competition, Overhills was the small varsity division champion and Eden Morehead won the large varsity division.

Charlotte Olympic won the small varsity division and Elizabeth City Northeastern won the large varsity award in non-tumble competition.

Fuquay-Varina was the small junior varsity division champion and Lake Norman got the large JV award.

A record number of almost 100 teams participated in the event.


4th annual Invitational Cheerleading Championship

Reynolds Coliseum, Raleigh

November 11,2006

Final results:

Small junior varsity (5 to 15 members)

champion—Fuquay-Varina 241

1st runner-up— Fayetteville Pine Forest 240

2nd runner-up— North Johnston 235

3rd runner-up— SouthWest Edgecombe 234

4th runner-up— Overhills 233

Large junior varsity (16 and up)

Champion—Lake Norman 254

1st runner-up—Matthews David Butler 243

2nd runner-up—Currituck 240

3rd runner-up—Southern Wayne 237

Small varsity non-tumble (19 and fewer)

Champion—Charlotte Olympic 238

1st runner-up – Ashe County 232

2nd runner-up—Pamlico 229

3rd runner-up—Wilson Fike 224

Large varsity non-tumble (20 and up)

champion—Elizabeth City Northeastern 254

1st runner-up—Seven Springs Spring Creek 245

2nd runner-up—Thomasville 235

Small varsity (5 to 12 members)

champion— Lake Norman 248

1st runner-up— Franklinton 216

2nd runner-up— Havelock 215

Medium varsity (13 to 16 members)

champion—Matthews David Butler 253

1st runner-up—Charlotte Providence 251

2nd runner-up—Charlotte Myers Park 237

3rd runner-up—Sun Valley 237

4th runner-up—Wilson Hunt 234

5th runner-up— Monroe Piedmont 233

6th runner-up— East Bend Forbush 231

Large varsity (17 to19 members)

champion— North Gaston 270

1st runner-up— Currituck 258

2nd runner-up— North Buncombe 237

Super varsity (20 to 21 members)

champion— Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 258

1st runner-up— Davie 254

2nd runner-up— SouthWest Edgecombe 245

Super large varsity (22-plus members)

champion— Jamestown Ragsdale 252

1st runner-up— Chapel Hill 235

2nd runner-up— Gastonia Ashbrook 227

Small varsity coed (2 to 4 males)

champion— Overhills 255

1st runner-up— Weddington 245

2nd runner-up—Lumberton Purnell Swett 233

Large varsity coed (five or more males)

champion— Eden Morehead 231

1st runner-up– Fairmont 230