North Carolina Finalists For Wendy’s High School Heisman


      NEW YORK—The state finalists for North Carolina have been announced for the Wendy’s High School Heisman.

       School winners from nominations all across North Carolina, from both North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools and other schools, have been screened down to 20.

      The state winners are scheduled to be announced by Wendy’s next week.

      The Wendy’s High School Heisman Program looks for all types of high-achieving seniors from more than 29,000 public and private high schools within the U.S. Consideration goes to young men and women who participate in a wide range of sports and school and community activities.

      Students must be seniors and are judged based on their academic achievements, athletic accomplishments, community-leadership, and involvement in various extracurricular activities during grades 9 through 11.

      Scholarship Management Services®, a division of Scholarship America, the nation’s largest designer and manager of education assistance and recognition programs evaluates applicants and determines School Winners, State Finalists, and State Winners. After State Winners are selected, a distinguished panel of judges takes over.

      Program judges include representatives from the worlds of education, business, and sports along with former college Heisman Memorial Trophy Award winners and former national Wendy’s High School Heisman winners. The judges carefully review nomination forms and vote on the National Finalists and National Winners.


Lauren Arrington   South Caldwell High School

Thomas Bilden      Carrboro High School              

Adam Chase         Forsyth Country Day School    

Maria Davis           Southwest Guilford High School

Charlotte Deiss     East Mecklenburg High School 

Bryant Gilchrist      Northside High School, Jacksonville             

Hunter Gray          South Stanly High School        

Sarah Hambright   White Oak High School           

Jordan Harris         Enka High School          

Lauren Hartmann  T.C. Roberson High School     

William Howard     Charles B. Aycock High School         

Ashlyn Johnson    Hobbton High School     

Parker Lee            Fuquay-Varina Sr High School 

J Bryce Love          Wake Forest High School        

Madison Maloney  D H Conley High School          

Graham Morton     Mount Tabor High School        

Jacob Schmidt        Fred T Foard High School

Kristine Slade        North Brunswick High School    

James Speer           North Raleigh Christian Academy                        

Abigale Verchick    Union Pines High School