NCHSAA’s Dreibelbis among eight state high school association leaders to receive NFHS Citations at 2021 NFHS Summer Meeting

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (February 1, 2021) – NCHSAA Associate Commissioner Mark Dreibelbis is among eight leaders in state high school associations who have been selected to receive National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Citations. The eight individuals were approved by the NFHS Board of Directors at its meeting last month.  

Dreibelbis has been associate commissioner of the NCHSAA since January 2005. He has been supervisor of officials, director of Student Services, national trainer for the NFHS Coach Education Program and rules clinician for eight sports. He has served on the NFHS Football and Basketball Rules Committees. Prior to joining the NCHSAA, Dreibelbis was associate director of athletics for 13 years at his alma mater, Appalachian State University. Dreibelbis has been an NCHSAA basketball official for 30 years and an NCAA basketball official for 26 years. 

An award designed to honor individuals who have made contributions to the NFHS, state high school associations, athletic director and coaching professions, the officiating avocation and fine arts/performing arts programs, the NFHS Citation is one of the most highly regarded achievements in high school athletics and performing arts. 

The eight 2021 state association Citation recipients are Sherry Bryant, Section 1, associate executive director, Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association (MIAA); Kelly Geddis, Section 2, retired assistant executive director, West Virginia Secondary School Activities Commission (WVSSAC); Mark Dreibelbis, Section 3, associate commissioner, North Carolina High School Athletic Association; Kathy Vruggink Westdorp, Section 4, assistant director, Michigan High School Athletic Association (MHSAA); Lisa Lissimore, Section 5, associate director, Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL); Mike Plunkett, Section 6, assistant executive director, Oklahoma Secondary School Activities Association (OSSAA); Brian Bolitho, Section 7, director of business development, Arizona Interscholastic Association (AIA); and Brian Michelotti, Section 8, associate director, Montana High School Association (MHSA).  

The 2021 NFHS Citation recipients will receive their awards June 30 at the annual NFHS Summer Meeting in Orlando, Florida. In addition, the NFHS will honor the 2020 Citation recipients in Orlando since the in-person 2020 Summer Meeting was cancelled due to the pandemic.

Online link to full NFHS Release: