North Carolina High School Athletic Association

NCHSAA Student-Athletes recognized as “Heart Of A Champion” Award Winners

CHAPEL HILL—A total of 19 student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools were honored for their outstanding sportsmanship as winners of “Heart of a Champion” recognition on Saturday, April 8, 2017.

The sportsmanship recognition is part of the program offered by the NCHSAA Student Services Division and is sponsored by the North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company.  Mark Dreibelbis, NCHSAA assistant commissioner, and Director of Sports, Championships and Student Services, Chiquana Dancy, administer the program.

Each of the NCHSAA member schools had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the recognition. The students must have participated in at least one varsity sport or activity, including cheerleading, during the 2016-17 school year, have not been ejected from any contest, and must have demonstrated outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship during their high school careers.

The students filled out an application questionnaire and then a school official, such as the principal or athletic director, also provided an evaluation.

The students were honored Saturday at a luncheon at the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel-RDU. The award and luncheon is sponsored by NC Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company.

"We are continuing our emphasis on sportsmanship and the important lessons high school athletics teach,” said NCHSAA Commissioner Que Tucker. "We are proud of the achievements of this select group of student-athletes, both on and off the field."

Click here to view photo album.

North Carolina Farm Bureau Heart of a Champion 2016-17 Honorees:
Regan Allen, North Iredell – Nominated by Robert Thompson
Nyilah Anderson, C.E. Jordan – Nominated by Erik Zakrzewski
Jacqueline Blabon, West Rowan – Nominated by Todd Bell
Emily Childers, North Wilkes – Nominated by Michael Greene
Ryan Darden, High Point Central – Nominated by Daniel Villa
Lauren Dulin, High Point Central – Nominated by Daniel Villa
Grant Gibson, Mallard Creek – Nominated by Amy Foster
Samara Gibson, Corinth Holders – Nominated by Peter Clark
Toliy Givens, Lincoln Charter – Nominated by Joshua Williams
Wilson Hoyle, IV, C.E. Jordan – Nominated by Aaron Brown
Henderson Lentz, North Rowan – Nominated by Ben Hampton
Luke Miles, North Wilkes – Nominated by Candace Dillin
Meredith Mize, John A. Holmes – Nominated by Wes Mattera
Samantha Pritchard, North Rowan – Nominated by Ben Hampton
Callista Rice, North Buncombe – Nominated by Barry Owens
Robert Sipes, North Iredell – Nominated by Robert Thompson
Jessica Utter, A.C. Reynolds – Nominated by Ashley Green
Railey White, Maiden – Nominated by Jessica Frye
Samuel Williams, South Iredell – Nominated by Stacy Davis and Bobby Deal