North Carolina High School Athletic Association

NCHSAA Singles, Doubles Tennis Championships Up For Grabs Starting Thursday In Men’s Tennis

                 CHAPEL HILL – Championships in singles and doubles in four different classifications are up for grabs starting on Thursday as the North Carolina High School Athletic Association holds its annual men’s tennis tournament championships at three different sites.

                  Semifinalists in both singles and doubles at the regional level qualified for the state championships. 
                  The 4-A championships are scheduled for Millbrook Exchange Park in Raleigh. The 3-A event will be held at the Burlington Parks and Recreation Tennis Center. Both the 1-A and the 2-A championships are set for the Cary Tennis Center.
                  Action will get underway on Thursday morning with the opening round of play at 9 a.m. after the coaches' meeting in all classifications. Two rounds will be played on Thursday, with the semifinals Friday morning and the championship matches on Friday afternoon. Since the field is smaller for the 1-A tournament, the only Friday match will be the championship Friday morning at 9 a.m.
                  The 4-A singles field includes 2013 4-A runner-up Bo Boyden of Raleigh Wakefield and 3-A runner-up Riley Brosnan of Charlotte Catholic, since Catholic has moved up to the 4-A ranks.
                  Both defending champions are back in the 3-A tournament, as Robert Kelly of Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons won the singles crown last year and the doubles championship duo of Matt Galush and Noah Constantine of Gibbons also returns.
                  Last year’s 1-A singles champ, Jacob Fuqua of Hendersonville, will be playing in the 2-A tournament since Hendersonville moved up to 2-A in realignment.  Last year’s 2-A runner-up, Brian Freiburghouse of Carrboro, has also qualified again.  Tyler Barrymore of Newton-Conover, who teamed with John Tate to win the ’13 2-A doubles championship, has qualified again, this time paired with Gordon Wepner. A Newton-Conover team has won the last four doubles championships in this classification.
                  In 1-A, Dylan Cuddington of Rosewood is back in the state event after finishing as runner-up a year ago.
                  More tennis finals are scheduled for next week, as all four classes of the men’s dual team tennis championships will be May 17 at the Burlington Tennis Center.

MAY 8-9, 2014
CLASS 1-A—Cary Tennis Center
Dylan Cuddington (Rosewood) vs. Zuri Kent Smith (Matthews Queen’s Grant)
Mitch Kessler (Mount Airy) vs. Abichiran Baskaran (Raleigh Charter)
Ryan Schell (Elkin) vs. Max Kohn (Louisburg)
Chase Connor (Riverside Martin) vs. John Latimer (Misenheimer Gray Stone Day)
Harrison Stone-Christian Quick (Durham Voyager Academy) vs. Sam Hill Jennings-Alex Wang (Misenheimer Gray Stone Day)
Chad Vestal-David Bullin (Elkin) vs. Brent Ross-Anderson Caldwell (Riverside Martin)
Sam McLaughry-Jack Jones (Kernersville Bishop McGuinness) vs. Cole Esleeck-Rukesh Chinthapatla (Raleigh Charter)
Jonathan Venable-Patrick Duffy (Franklin Academy) vs. Ben Jandzinski-Jonathan Ingram (Kernersville Bishop McGuinness)
CLASS 2-A—Cary Tennis Center
Connor Wilkins (Washington) vs. Jacob Fuqua (Hendersonville)
Brett Moore (West Davidson) vs. Kenston Burns (Red Springs)
Joseph Schrader (Brevard) vs. Jack Brady (Kill Devil Hills First Flight)
Jason Wykoff (Carrboro) vs. Cameron Clemons (Monroe Central Academy)
Brian Freiburghouse (Carrboro) vs. Krishna Tiwari (Wilkes Central)
Grant Buckner (Burnsville Mountain Heritage) vs. Cole Bryant (East Duplin)
Michael Ogden (Salisbury) vs. Ian Lobaugh (Durham School of the Arts)
Sam DeAraujo (Goldsboro) vs. Ryen Reid (Newton-Conover)
Evan Kramer-Will Hardy (North Lenoir) vs. Miles Lally-Katie Craig (Black Mountain Charles D. Owen)
Thomas Chapman-Austin Miller (Mount Pleasant) vs. Daniel Oh-Justin Yang (Durham N.C. School of Science and Math)
Cre Still-Chris Wilson (Brevard) vs. Bailey Lail-C.J. Jackson (North Johnston)
Paul Flournoy-Aaron Hiller (Carrboro) vs. David Ryu-Hunter Dean (Trinity)
Max Fritch-Jake Zinn (Carrboro) vs. Parker Jordan-Kevin Reynolds (Wilkes Central)
Tyler Barrymore-Gordon Wepner (Newton-Conover) vs. Zach Tracy-Cole Dozier (Newport Croatan)
Clint Comadoll-Spencer Storey (Salisbury) vs. Aaron Viser-Connor Bass (Clinton)
Robby Taylor-Dylan Costello (Greene Central) vs. Andrew Beard-J. Will Edwards (Catawba Bandys)
CLASS 3-A—Burlington Tennis Center
Anthony Brennan (Swansboro) vs. Levy Young (Lenoir Hibriten)
Austin Allen (Asheboro) vs. Chris Chang (Chapel Hill)
Cole Douglas-Fields (Asheville A.C. Reynolds) vs. Calvin Yurick (Richlands)
Bryan Zhang (Chapel Hill) vs. Austin Schepel (Waxhaw Cuthbertson)
Robert Kelly (Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons) vs. Kyle Kennedy (Northwest Cabarrus)
Johnathon Jenkins (North Gaston) vs. Kevin Ramirez (Rocky Mount)
George Lovitt (Waxhaw Marvin Ridge) vs. Zac Marion (Hillsborough Cedar Ridge)
Jackson Willis (Nash Central) vs. Isaac Sluder (Waynesville Tuscola)
Thomas Smith-Reid Harris (Wilson Fike) vs. Matt Splain-Destin Newfont (North Buncombe)
Andrew Viditz-Ward—Liam Florian (Waxhaw Marvin Ridge) vs. Ben Williams-Dylan Dinkins (Cameron Union Pines)
Jack Wassserman-Dylan Goodmon (Shelby Crest) vs. Jake Altman-Jamie Schap (Wendell Corinth Holders)
Jim Mantyh-Kyle Fitzgerald (Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons) vs. Sahil Vasa-Everett Haugh (Weddington)
Matt Galush-Noah Constantine (Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons) vs. Eric Whisnant-Will Cole (Western Guilford)
Luke Kessel-Will Arditti (Hickory) vs. Noah Pieper-Dean Crenshaw (South Brunswick)
Avanish Madhavaram-Hayden Wohlfarth (Waxhaw Marvin Ridge) vs. Alex Walker-Ashwin Bhargava (Chapel Hill)
Tremel Davis-Matthew Outlaw (Northern Nash) vs. Trey LaSure-Myles Grady (Asheville)
CLASS 4-A—Millbrook Exchange Park, Raleigh
Marshall Waren (Wilmington New Hanover) vs., Luis Fernando (Huntersville Hopewell)
Collin Shick (Greensboro Grimsley) vs. Klein Evans (Clayton)
Josh Du Toit (Charlotte Ardrey Ell) vs. Shane McDonough (Wilmington Laney)
Logan Weber (Raleigh Millbrook) vs. Kyle Schlanger (Northwest Guilford)
Bo Boyden (Raleigh Wakefield) vs. Max Smith (East Chapel Hill)
Riley Brosnan (Charlotte Catholic) vs. Patrick Ryder (Wilmington Laney)
Bennett Crane (Winston-Salem R.J. Reynolds) vs. Blake Carter (Raleigh Wakefield)
Colt Auman (Richmond) vs. Grant Patton (South Mecklenburg)
Noah Milliken-Chase Horton (Wilmington Hoggard) vs. Patrick Menkhaus-Jack Deering (Charlotte Catholic)
Hardy Brown-Naveed Foroudi (Greensboro Page) vs. Austin Cobb-Matthew Moody (Raleigh Millbrook)
Ryan Wydra-Sean Wydra (Cornelius Hough) vs. Jack Sandlin-Jack Cooper (Wilmington New Hanover)
Andrew Belonga-Nico Grewe (Raleigh Wakefield) vs. Nate Rowell-John Kretzschmar (Winston-Salem R.J. Reynolds)
Jensen Martin-Phil Lauture (Raleigh Wakefield) vs. Jack Devonport-Connor Lutz (East Chapel Hill)
Jason Horecky-Coleman Baker (Asheville T.C. Roberson) vs. Taylor Gaines-Patrick Senior (Wilmington New Hanover)
John Riazzi-Nicholas McDaniel (Winston-Salem R.J. Reynolds), bye
Jonathan O’Neal-Jacob Matthews (Winterville South Central) vs. Christopher Dillon-Shel Robinson (Charlotte Myers Park)
NCHSAA FastFacts
Event: NCHSAA Men’s Tennis Tournament Championships
Date: May 8-9, 2014
Site: 1-A: Cary Tennis Center; 2-A: Cary Tennis Center; 3-A: Burlington Parks and Recreation Tennis Center; 4-A: Millbrook Exchange Park, Raleigh
First Held: 1916
Qualifiers:  Semifinalists in both singles and doubles at the regional level qualify for the state events
Of Interest: Kyle Johnson of Charlotte Catholic (2009-12) is the only four-time singles champion ever in NCHSAA men’s play.