NCHSAA Singles, Doubles Championships Up For Grabs

       CHAPEL HILL – Championships in singles and doubles in four different classifications are up for grabs this weekend as the North Carolina High School Athletic Association holds its annual men’s tennis tournament championships at three different sites.

       Semifinalists in both singles and doubles at the regional level qualify for the state championships. 

       The 4-A championships are scheduled for Millbrook Exchange Park in Raleigh. The 3-A event will be held at the Burlington Parks and Recreation Tennis Center. Both the 1-A and the 2-A championships are set for the Cary Tennis Center.

       Action will get underway on Friday morning with the opening round of play at 9 a.m. in all classifications. Two rounds will be played on Friday, with the semifinals Saturday morning and the championship matches on Saturday afternoon. Since the field is smaller for the 1-A tournament, the only Saturday match will be the championship Saturday morning at 9 a.m.

       Kyle Johnson of Charlotte Catholic will be seeking his third consecutive singles title in the 3-A classification. Robbie Mudge of R.J. Reynolds in Winston-Salem won the 2009 singles crown in 4-A but had an injury last year that prevented a title defense.

       More tennis finals are scheduled for next week, as all four classes of the men’s dual team tennis championships will be May 21 at the Burlington Tennis Center.

       Wendy’s is the presenting sponsor of the NCHSAA sports program.

NCHSAA FastFacts

Event: NCHSAA Men’s Tennis Tournament Championships

Date: May 13-14, 2011

Site: 1-A: Cary Tennis Center; 2-A: Cary Tennis Center; 3-A: Burlington Parks and Recreation Tennis Center; 4-A: Millbrook Exchange Park, Raleigh

First Held: 1916

Qualifiers: Semifinalists in both singles and doubles at the regional level qualify for the state events

Of Interest: Ed Caviness of Goldsboro (1952-54), Paul Goebel of Hendersonville (1988-90), Eric Saunders of Salisbury (1991-93), John Lucas of Durham Hillside (1970-72) , Brad Pomeroy of T.C. Roberson (2000-02) and Will Rollinson of Cardinal Gibbons (2006-08) are three-time singles champions in NCHSAA play.