North Carolina High School Athletic Association

NCHSAA Men’s Singles, Doubles Tennis Championships Up For Grabs

CHAPEL HILL – Championships in singles and doubles in four different classifications will be up for grabs this weekend as the North Carolina High School Athletic Association holds its men’s tennis tournament championships at three different sites.

Semifinalists in both singles and doubles at the regional level qualify for the state championships.

The 4-A championships are scheduled for the Cone Kenfield Tennis Center on the campus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, while the 3-A event will be held at the Burlington Parks and Recreation Tennis Center. Both the 1-A and the 2-A championships are set for the Cary Tennis Center.

Action will get underway on Friday morning with the opening round of play at 10 a.m. in all classifications. Two rounds will be played on Friday, with the semifinals Saturday morning and the championship matches on Saturday afternoon. Since the field is smaller for the 1-A tournament, the only Saturday match will be the championship Saturday morning at 9 a.m.

More tennis finals are scheduled for next week, as all four classes of the men’s dual team tennis championships will be May 27 at the Burlington Tennis Center.



1A West


David Hopkins, Winston Salem Prep

Tyler Grove, Hendersonville

William John, Mount Airy

Grant Harrison, West Montgomery


David Murphy/Elliott Johnson, East Wilkes

Matthew Wurdeman/Nick Holcomb, Elkin

Jonathan Petty/Jonathan Scheetz, Siler City Jordan-Matthews

Matt Johnson/Ryan Niland, Mount Airy

1A East


Cliff Wilson, Spring Creek

Carter Luhring, Topsail

Fielding Elliott, Williamston

Jas Schmitt, Raleigh Charter


Grant Ligon/Mark Hemphill, Raleigh Charter

Chris San Miguel/Josh Grant, Rosewood

Ty Johnson/Daniel Ellis, Rosewood

Trent Caldwell/Scott Kimball, Williamston

2A West


Phillip Brame, Wilkes Central

Andrew Gryson, Brevard

Chris Knowles, North Henderson

Forrest Bridges, Shelby


Zach Henderson/Steve Harenberg, Brevard

Lee Belton/Justin Renegar, Boonville Starmount

Chad Anderson/Sean Brooks, North Henderson

Cody Simpson/Matthew Riggan, Surry Central

2A Midwest


Tyler Beck, Lexington

Robert Benitez, Lenoir Hibriten

Drew Keener, East Lincoln

Matt Limone, West Lincoln


Andy Schmidt/Alan Pernell, Newton-Conover

Matt Koontz/Ross Lackey, Ledford

George Lampron/Daniel Paulk, North Lincoln

John Jones/Kaleb Unverfehrt, Newton -Conover

2A Mideast


Will Rollinson, Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons

Allen Grane, Madison Dalton McMichael

Ryan Daly, Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons

Britton Webb, Orange


Clark Howell/Evan Goff, Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons

Travis Moore/Banks Nimmo, Greene Central

Jeff Fadool/Jon Fedorkowicz,Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons

Matt Short/Taylor Tharrington, Warren County

2A East


William Gray, Kill Devil Hills First Flight

Bradley Walters, St. Pauls

Taylor Sullivan, Kill Devil Hills First Flight

Joseph Hernandez, Swansboro


Alex Boehling/Collins Small, Edenton Holmes

Pierce Herring/Ian Cook, Kill Devil Hills First Flight

Wesley Davis/Brad Lowman, Clinton

Mike Potocki/Nick Summerford, Edenton Holmes

3A West


Andrew Crone, Hickory

Daniel Tobben, Charlotte Catholic

Phillip Collins, Asheville TC Roberson

Paul Bartholomy, Charlotte Catholic


Jacob Wright/Fabian Kaske, TC Roberson

Ben Carlton/David Meek, Hickory

Brandon Lamoureux/David Trautmann, Charlotte Catholic

Tripp Johnson/Tyler Magerkurth, Hickory

3A Mid West


Preston Spencer, Statesville

Owen Bullard, Concord

Drew Wandler, Piedmont

Travis Vanhoy, North Iredell


Trey Chatman/Ryan Kerr, Jamestown Ragsdale

Hunter Henley/Michale Ridenhour, Mooresville

Thomas Fanjoy/Luke Gillis, Statesville

Travis Lynk/David Cone, Southwest Guilford

3A Mid East


George Kernodle, Burlington Williams

Sumeet Jindal, Oxford JF Webb

Adam Moneypenny, Southern Alamance

Ryan Wall, Gray’s Creek


Walker Buchan/Sam Stalls, Union Pines

Joseph Canada/Ross Powell, Burlington Williams

Thurman Murphy/Brad Totten, Southern Alamance

Chaley Whitely/Chris Sparks, Western Alamance

3A East


Drew Ziccardi, Eastern Wayne

James Walker, Kinston

Jared Stone, Eastern Wayne

Alex Sack, West Brunswick


Kevin Stancil/Ben Peele, Washington

Drew Jackson/Alex Bryant, Eastern Wayne

Kevin Murray/Ethan Page, Southern Nash

Travis Marsh/Travis Kirkpatrick, Rocky Mount

4A West


Chris Sheehan, Charlotte Providence

Merritt Trigg, Myers Park

Drew Phillips, East Mecklenburg

Carter Braxton, Charlotte Providence


Thomas Rickenbaker/Brendan O’Connor, Charlotte Providence

Matthew Hancock/Wes Golding, Gastonia Ashbrook

Ted Monks/Chris Baum, Charlotte Providence

David Buffie/Tyler Jeffers, Weddington

4A Mid West


Hamilton Engram, Winston-Salem RJ Reynolds

Ryan Veatch, Huntersville Hopewell

Ian Hunter, Charlotte Vance

Conner Sherwood, Greensboro Grimsley


Troy Warber/Tyler Warber, Central Cabarrus

Zach Pomer/Zack Wise, Greensboro Grimsley

Patrick Cunningham/Ben Knight, Winston-Salem Mount Tabor

Chris Maher/Ryan Kearney, Concord Jay Robinson

4A Mid East


Mike Greenberg, East Chapel Hill

Justin Radloff, Cary

Andrew Malizia, Chapel Hill

David Chermak, Sanderson


Chase Helpingstine/Austin Webb, Chapel Hill

Jeff Archer/Tim Bayus, East Chapel Hill

Alex Wetherell/Evan Tsun, Morrisville Green Hope

Matt Rorech/Michael Zurawell, Raleigh Millbrook

4A East


Michael Pereira, Fayetteville Jack Britt

Thomas Pendergrast, New Hanover

Andrew Bock, Fayetteville Terry Sanford

Alan Donald,Wilmington New Hanover


Joe May/Greg Simon, Greenvile JH Rose

Lucas Puente/Cullen Lea, Wilmington Laney

Rob Warwick/Nick Garrett, Wiilmington Hoggard

Eric Noble/Ryan Noble, Fayetteville Terry Sanford

NCHSAA FastFacts

Event: NCHSAA Men’s Tennis Tournament Championships

Date: May 19-20, 2006

Site: 1-A: Cary Tennis Center; 2-A: Cary Tennis Center; 3-A: Burlington Parks and Recreation Tennis Center; 4-A: Cone-Kenfield Tennis Center, UNC-Chapel Hill

First Held: 1916

Qualifiers: Semifinalists in both singles and doubles at the regional level qualify for the state events

Of Interest: A Raleigh school has had a 4-A singles entry in each of the last eight state singles finals.