CHAPEL HILL – The brackets have been finalized for the North Carolina High School Athletic Association’s Men’s Dual Team Tennis playoffs. This year 120 teams enter the five-round playoff across the NCHSAA’s four classifications. There will be 24 schools represented in the 1A bracket while each of the other three classifications will have a field of 32 teams.

The Dual Team Tennis Championships will begin on May 3rd with the first round and conclude with the State Championships on May 21st at the Burlington Tennis Center. The 1A and 3A Championships will begin at 9:30 a.m. and the 2A & 4A will follow at 12:30 p.m. Follow the championships on social media with the NCHSAA’s official hashtag, #NCHSAAMTEN, throughout the Dual Team and Individual State Tournaments.

Men’s Dual Team Tennis Championship Brackets


Last year in the 4A Dual Team Championship, Wakefield won their second consecutive Dual Team title by downing Greensboro Page 5-1. The Wolverines finished the season unbeaten for the second year in a row under head coach Ken Stewart. Bo Boyden was named the Most Valuable Player for Wakefield in the victory winning number one singles over Hardy Brown in straight 6-1 sets. The Championship Match appearance was the third appearance for the Wolverines in the last four years.

Marvin Ridge snapped Cardinal Gibbons’ string of four consecutive 3A State Championships. Marvin Ridge split the singles matches with the defending champions 3-3 with 3 of the six matches being decided in split sets and leaving the championship in the balance for the doubles matches. Each team secured a doubles match victory and the number one doubles match went into a tiebreaker after a 10-10 tie in the pro set. John Hatala and Avanish Madhavaram from Marvin Ridge prevailed winning the tiebreaker 7-3 over Matt Galush and Jim Mantyn. Hatala who also won at number two singles was named the MVP.

Carrboro secured the 2A crown for the second year in a row, beating Brevard for the second consecutive time in the finals, this time by a 5-2 count. The Jaguars won four of the six singles matches, Jason Wykoff won at number six singles and then combined with Sean Ross to win at number three doubles and clinch the title.

Raleigh Charter dropped the first two singles matches including one by 1A singles state champion Max Vicario before rebounding to win the next five matches and take the school’s first 1A dual team state championship defeating Pine Lake Prep 5-2. Cole Esleeck and Dennis Smith, who won at five and six singles respectively, took number three doubles to seal the win. Joseph Fisher, winner at number three singles for Raleigh Charter was named the Championship MVP.





Gates County 7-5 vs. BYE

East Carteret 12-2 vs. Princeton 4-6

Riverside-Martin 9-4 vs. BYE

Louisburg 8-6 vs. Chatham Charter 9-4

Rosewood 11-1 vs. BYE

North Moore 12-3 vs. Voyager Academy 10-2

East Columbus 8-6 vs. BYE

Raleigh Charter 11-1 vs. Southeast Halifax 6-6


Elkin 15-2 vs. BYE

Bishop McGuinness vs. Community School of Davidson 4-2

Pine Lake Prep 12-2 vs. BYE

Union Academy 13-5 vs. Atkins 9-4

Albemarle 14-1 vs. BYE

Highlands 0-3 vs. Lincoln Charter 10-1

Mt. Airy 18-2 vs. BYE

Avery 2-11 vs. East Wilkes 13-6




Washington 11-4 vs. Bunn 5-3

NC School of Science & Math 7-0 vs. Carrboro 15-5

Kinston 11-1 vs. Durham School of the Arts 9-4

Clinton 15-0 vs. South Columbus 9-3

Croatan 9-2 vs. Holmes 8-8

Providence Grove 6-5 vs. Goldsboro 8-5

St. Pauls 11-1 vs. West Bladen 10-5

First Flight 8-1 vs. North Johnston 15-4


West Stokes 11-2 vs. Wilkes Central 11-4

West Stanly 14-3 vs. Forbush 9-5

Newton-Conover 8-4 vs. Lexington 11-4

Stuart Cramer 8-2 vs. East Rutherford 4-3

Shelby 8-0 vs. Central Academy 13-5

Mountain Heritage 8-0 vs. East Burke 7-6

Salisbury 15-0 vs. Surry Central 9-4

Brevard 12-1 vs. Maiden 7-2




Fike 14-2 vs. West Carteret 13-3

Cleveland 11-4 vs. Western Alamance 8-1

Union Pines 16-3 vs. Orange 13-3

Topsail 4-12 vs. Ledford 11-6

Northern Guilford 9-7 vs. Rocky Mount 12-2

Western Guilford 10-4 vs. Terry Sanford 10-1

Eastern Wayne 11-3 vs. White Oak 13-4

Chapel Hill 11-2 vs. Corinth Holders 8-7


South Iredell 15-2 vs. Cox Mill 12-2

Forestview 13-1 vs. Hibriten 6-2

Marvin Ridge 17-1 vs. North Buncombe 9-5

East Rowan 13-0 vs. Pisgah 8-4

Asheville 11-2 vs. Weddington 9-4

West Henderson 12-4 vs. Concord 9-2

Kings Mountain 9-2 vs. Statesville 6-9

Hickory 9-4 vs. South Point 7-4




South View 13-1 vs. Green Hope 15-3

D.H. Conley 16-0 vs. Garner 15-6

New Hanover 16-0 vs. East Chapel Hill 14-3

Pinecrest 13-5 vs. Millbrook 13-2

Enloe 14-1 vs. East Wake 13-4

Cardinal Gibbons 19-5 vs. Jack Britt 11-4

Panther Creek 17-0 vs. Wakefield 13-3

Clayton 18-0 vs. Richmond 9-3


Northwest Guilford 14-3 vs. Mallard Creek 7-4

Myers Park 12-0 vs. Ardrey Kell 14-5

Page 13-0 vs. Hough 11-2

Lake Norman 14-1 vs. West Forsyth 12-2

Watauga 9-0 vs. Porter Ridge 11-3

T.C. Roberson 14-0 vs. Southwest Guilford 15-2

R.J. Reynolds 14-0 vs. Providence 13-6

Charlotte Catholic 17-2 vs. Grimsley 12-2