NCHSAA honors two coaches with NFHS Section 3 and State Coach of the Year Awards at Annual Meeting

CHAPEL HILL – The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) partners with the NCHSAA to recognize coaches of the year for the State of North Carolina, for the Southeastern Region, known as Section 3 within the NFHS, and national coaches of the year in each sport. For the 2017-18 academic year, the NCHSAA had two coaches selected as both state and section coaches of the year. Jeff Craddock from Tarboro football and James Brugger from Lake Norman Men's Lacrosse were both awarded the Section 3 Coach of the Year Awards at the NCHSAA Annual Meeting on May 2, 2019 at the Dean E. Smith Center.

FOOTBALL – Jeff Craddock, Tarboro High School

Jeff Craddock has continued the tradition of the Tarboro High School Football Program. Coach Craddock led the Vikings to the State Championship in 2017 when they finished the season unbeaten, knocking out Mount Airy 32-7 in the 1AA State Championship Game. The Vikings returned to the State Championship this year, winning the 1AA Title again, defeating East Surry 50-10 for the school’s sixth NCHSAA State Championship in Football. Craddock also won three straight championships at the 2A level from 2009 to 2011. 

MEN'S LACROSSE – James Brugger, Lake Norman High School

Coach James Brugger has maintained a perennially powerful program in men’s lacrosse at Lake Norman High School. For the last three seasons, the Wildcats have appeared in the 4A State Championship match. While the Wildcats fell to Cardinal Gibbons in close fashion in 2016 and lost to Middle Creek in 2017, Lake Norman stormed from behind in the 4A Finals closing minutes in 2018, shocking Middle Creek with a 13-11 victory in the State Championship. The win was the school’s second State Championship in Men’s Lacrosse and capped off a 22-2 season.