NCHSAA “Heart Of A Champion” Winners To Be Honored

CHAPEL HILL—Some 33 student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools have been recognized for their outstanding sportsmanship as winners of “Heart of a Champion” recognition.

The sportsmanship recognition is part of the program offered by the NCHSAA Student Services Division and is sponsored by GlaxoSmithKline. Mark Dreibelbis, NCHSAA assistant executive director, and student services assistant Chiquana Dancy administer the program.

Each of the NCHSAA member schools had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the recognition. The students must have participated in at least one varsity sport, including cheerleading, during the 2005-06 school year, have not been ejected from any contest, and must have demonstrated outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship during their high school careers. The students filled out an application questionnaire and then a school official, such as the principal or athletic director, also provided an evaluation.

The students will be honored at a luncheon on Saturday, June 10, at the Radisson Governors’ Inn in the Research Triangle Park.

GlaxoSmithKline Heart of a Champion 2006 Honorees:

Alaina Stella Alevizatos Millbrook High School, Raleigh

Michael Allen Kings Mountain High School

Thomas Baker Asheville High School

Jacob Michael Bright Southern Alamance High School

Duncan Briley Whiteville High School

Lauren Brown West Montgomery High School

Lauren Burgeson Southern Alamance High School

Myisha LaTarra Clark South Stanly High School

Emily Grace Cole Whiteville High School

Kendra Leigh Ferguson Clyde A. Erwin High School, Asheville

Allison Frazier Ayden-Grifton High School

Jeremiah Paul Fryar East Columbus High School

Sara Kathryn Garrell East Columbus High School

Stephanie M. Green Asheville High School

Nicole Harris North Wilkes High School

Keri Frances Holman West Rowan High School

David Jackson Sanderson High School, Raleigh

Cameron Kirby Jack Britt High School, Fayetteville

Katherine Michelle Layne Bunker Hill High School, Claremont

Zeb Thomas Link West Rowan High School

Tria Marie Metzler Bunn High School

Elias Morgan Clyde A. Erwin High School, Asheville

Samuel A. Nichols South Stanly High School

Kathleen Laura Olson Swansboro High School

Devin Patrick Bunker Hill High School, Claremont

Racquel Patterson East Bladen High School

David Shaw East Bladen High School

Adam Lee Speaks North Wilkes High School

Lindsay Thrift Southwestern Randolph High School

Matt Tripp Ayden-Grifton High School

Antonio Merida Velazco, Jr.West Montgomery High School

Samantha Walker Sanderson High School, Raleigh

Justin Daniel Youngblood Millbrook High School, Raleigh