NCHSAA Day Set For Saturday At Kenan Stadium

CHAPEL HILL– The North Carolina High School Athletic Association will be recognized by the University of North Carolina this Saturday at Kenan Stadium.

The North Carolina-South Florida football game, which has a kickoff time of noon, has been designated as the 22nd annual NCHSAA Day. The university actually spearheaded the founding of the NCHSAA in 1913.

Special halftime activities will highlight NCHSAA Day. The winners of the Wachovia Cup for the 2005-06 academic year, symbolic of the best overall interscholastic sports program in the state, will be honored. The winners include Topsail in the 1-A classification; Cardinal Gibbons of Raleigh among 2-A schools; Asheville’s T.C. Roberson among 3-A schools for the second consecutive year; and Providence High School of Charlotte in the 4-A class, for the sixth time in school history.

In addition, the newest members of the NCHSAA Hall of Fame will be recognized. Al Black of Spring Lake, the late Pat Gainey of Taylorsville and Pamlico prior to that; Charlie Gregory of Randleman, Tommy Hunt of Durham, Joan Riggs of Swansboro and Don Saine of Gastonia have been chosen as the 20th group of inductees to join the prestigious hall. That brings to 102 the number enshrined.

These six will formally be inducted into the NCHSAA Hall of Fame next spring during the Hall’s annual banquet and induction ceremonies at the Watts Alumni Center in Chapel Hill.

“We are certainly appreciative of the university and its willingness to recognize the North Carolina High School Athletic Association on this special occasion,” says Charlie Adams, executive director of the NCHSAA.