NCHSAA Athletes Of Year Named At Annual Meeting

RALEIGH — Megan Zullo of Farmville Central High School and Kendric Burney of Southwest Onslow High School have been named winners of the 2006 Athlete of the Year awards by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA).

These are the top athletic awards given by the NCHSAA to honor the most outstanding male and female high school athletes in the state. They were presented at the Fletcher Opera Theatre in the Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts during the NCHSAA’s Annual Meeting.

Both of the winners were nominated and selected by a special panel of media representatives from across the state. They were each presented with the Pat Best Memorial Trophy, named for the former Goldsboro High principal and president of the NCHSAA who died unexpectedly in 1988.

“We congratulate these fine student-athletes on their great achievements during their high school careers,” said Charlie Adams, executive director of the NCHSAA. “Both have tremendously impressive credentials along the lines of the previous outstanding winners of this award, and we certainly wish them the best in the future.”

Kendric is one of those three-sport rarities who excelled at football, basketball and baseball at Southwest, starting for four years in all three sports. In football, he was a three-time all-conference selection, was Most Valuable Player in the 2004 state championship 2-A game and then chosen for the Shrine Bowl this year. He started at quarterback and also played defensive back for the Stallions, who had a 53-6 varsity record during his career. He is also the school career interception leader with 24.

He led Southwest in scoring in basketball, pumping in 15.4 points per game, and was a three-time all-conference pick in that sport. Burney has also led the Southwest baseball team in hitting the last two seasons and is currently batting over .500 this spring with five homers and 15 RBI. He can couple that with a 6-1 pitching record and a sparking earned run average of 1.72.

Burney has signed to play football at the University of North Carolina and will also play baseball for the Tar Heels.

Zullo has also been a three-sport star at Farmville, in volleyball, basketball and track. She was Eastern Plains Conference Player of the Year in both volleyball and basketball this year and last spring participated on two regional championship track relay teams, one of which was second in the state. She earned all-conference honors in both volleyball and basketball four times each.

The Farmville star scored 2,326 points during her basketball career as Farmville posted a 102-14 slate in that sport during her four years. She averaged 21 points, six rebounds, eight assists and five steals a game as a senior and was MVP of the state 2-A championship game won by Farmville.

She will be furthering her career at North Carolina State University, where she has signed to play basketball.

This is the 21st year in which awards have been given to the top overall male and female athletes. Previous winners of the award include:


Winners of the Pat Best Memorial Trophy

Female Male

1985-86 Pam Doggett, Dudley

Patrick Lennon, Whiteville

1986-87 Andrea Stinson, North Mecklenburg

Robert Siler, Jordan-Matthews

1987-88 LeAnn Kennedy, Trinity

Chester McGlockton, Whiteville

1988-89 Danyel Parker, Clinton

Ethan Albright, Grimsley

1989-90 Karen Davis, Forbush

David Inman, Terry Sanford

1990-91 Christy Cagle, Hayesville

Mike Kendall, Albemarle

1991-92 Wendy Palmer, Person

Rusty LaRue, Northwest Guilford

1992-93 Holly Hill, Southwestern Randolph

Tyrone Westmoreland, South Iredell

1993-94 Jamie Parsons, Millbrook

Brian Roseboro, T.Wingate Andrews

1994-95 Aedrin Murray, Chatham Central

Na Brown, Reidsville

1995-96 Shea Ralph, Terry Sanford

Titcus Pettigrew, West Forsyth

1996-97 Jackie Houston, Kings Mountain

Tyrell Godwin, East Bladen

1997-98 Clifeteana McKiver, East Duplin

Julius Peppers, Southern Nash

1998-99 Anna Tharrington, Southern Nash

Nick Maddox, A.L. Brown

1999-2000 Courtney Willis, Terry Sanford

Manny DeShauteurs, Brevard

2000-01 Molly Pyles, Hendersonville

Derrele Mitchell, R.J. Reynolds

2001-02 Katrelle Armwood, Durham School of Arts

A.J. Davis, Northern Durham

2002-03 Anna Evans, Lumberton

Drew Williamson, Cummings

2003-04 Eva Baucom, Forest Hills

Jim Ollis, Polk County

2004-05 Jessie Sims, West Henderson

Terrell Hudgins, Rocky Mount

2005-06 Megan Zullo, Farmville Central

Kendric Burney, Southwest Onslow

Over 145,000 athletes compete in the NCHSAA’s 21-sport program.