North Carolina High School Athletic Association

NCHSAA Athletes Of The Year Named At Annual Meeting


CHAPEL HILL —- Romar Morris of Salisbury High School and Courtney Melvin of East Bladen High School have been named winners of the 2011 Athlete of the Year awards by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA).             


These are the top athletic awards given by the NCHSAA to honor the most outstanding male and female high school athletes in the state. They were presented at the Dean E, Smith Center on the University of North Carolina campus during the NCHSAA’s Annual Meeting on Thursday.

Both of the winners were selected by a special panel of media representatives from across the state. They were each presented with the Pat Best Memorial Trophy, named for the former Goldsboro High principal and president of the NCHSAA who died unexpectedly in 1988.


“On behalf of our Board of Directors and the entire membership of the NCHSAA, we congratulate these outstanding student-athletes on their tremendous achievements during their high school careers,” said Davis Whitfield, commissioner of the NCHSAA. “Both have extremely impressive credentials which are in the same vein as previous winners of this award, and we certainly wish them well in their future pursuits. 

Morris is a tremendous three-sport athlete in football, basketball and track, a four-year member of those teams at Salisbury.

During his senior year, he was the leading rusher and Most Valuable Player in the NCHSAA 2-AA state championship game in football, earningthe Central Carolina Conference Player of the Year award. He also played an important role in helping the Hornets reach the Western Regionals in basketball. 

Additionally in the winter season, he ran winter track and won the state championship in the 55 meters. In the spring, he runs outdoor track and will be defending his crown as the two-time defending champion in both the 100 and 200 meters.  He will also participate in other relay events.  During his last three years at Salisbury, he has won five individual state championships and helped lead three teams to state crowns with this spring’s season remaining. 

In track, she has twice been selected as the Most Valuable Player for her team. She is the 2011 conference champion in the shot put and has qualified for regional competition.

She will continue her athletic and academic career at East Carolina University next fall.


This is the 26th year in which awards have been given to the top overall male and female athletes. Previous winners of the award include:


1985-86Pam Doggett, Dudley

Patrick Lennon, Whiteville

1986-87  Andrea Stinson, North Mecklenburg

Robert Siler, Jordan-Matthews

1987-88LeAnn Kennedy, Trinity

Chester McGlockton, Whiteville

1988-89Danyel Parker, Clinton

Ethan Albright, Grimsley

1989-90Karen Davis, Forbush

David Inman, Terry Sanford

1990-91Christy Cagle, Hayesville

Mike Kendall, Albemarle

1991-92Wendy Palmer, Person

Rusty LaRue, Northwest Guilford

1992-93Holly Hill, Southwestern Randolph

Tyrone Westmoreland, South Iredell

1993-94Jamie Parsons, Millbrook

Brian Roseboro, T.Wingate Andrews

1994-95Aedrin Murray, Chatham Central

Na Brown, Reidsville

1995-96Shea Ralph, Terry Sanford

Titcus Pettigrew, West Forsyth

1996-97Jackie Houston, Kings Mountain

Tyrell Godwin, East Bladen

1997-98Clifeteana McKiver, East Duplin

Julius Peppers, Southern Nash

1998-99Anna Tharrington, Southern Nash

Nick Maddox, A.L. Brown

1999-2000Courtney Willis, Terry Sanford

Manny DeShauteurs, Brevard

2000-01Molly Pyles, Hendersonville

Derrele Mitchell, R.J. Reynolds

2001-02Katrelle Armwood, Durham School of Arts

A.J. Davis, Northern Durham

2002-03Anna Evans, Lumberton

Drew Williamson, Cummings

2003-04Eva Baucom, Forest Hills

Jim Ollis, Polk County

2004-05Jessie Sims, West Henderson

Terrell Hudgins, Rocky Mount

2005-06Megan Zullo, Farmville Central

Kendric Burney, Southwest Onslow

2006-07Gabby Mayo, Southeast Raleigh

Dee Bost, Concord

2007-08Jannetta Robinson, Pender

E.J. Abrams-Ward, Thomasville

2008-09Ali Ford, Freedom

Tyler Shatley, East Burke

2009-10Leah Mackley, Pender

Kareem Martin, Roanoke Rapids

2010-11Courtney Melvin, East Bladen

Romar Morris, Salisbury

About 200,000 athletes compete in the NCHSAA’s 23-sport program.