NCHSAA 1A & 3A 2017 Track & Field Championships Recap

2017 1A & 3A Outdoor Track & Field Championship Results (PDF)

2017 1A & 3A Outdoor Track & Field Championship Results (AP Text)

1A Women’s Meet: North Stokes outruns Murphy to win first Women’s Track title in school history

North Stokes powered their way to the school’s first team championship in Women’s Outdoor Track and Field, outlasting second-place Murphy 61-47. North Stokes had two winners in individual events on their way to the championship.

Hailey Sheppard cleared 9’ 0” to win the Pole Vault for North Stokes. Her teammate Abigail Hemric cruised to victory in the 3200, posting a time of 11:55.40. Those were the only two event wins for the victorious team squad.

Araybian Lilly was a triple-winner on the day on her way to being named the meet’s M.V.P. Lilly captured the 100 Meter Dash in :12.65 seconds. She then won the 400 Meter Dash in :58.33 seconds and the 200 Meter Dash in :25.36 seconds.

Andrews got a double-win from Tiffany Holloway in the Shot Put and Discus. Holloway tossed 41’ 2” in the Shot Put while putting up a mark of 128’ 2” to win the Discus.

Emma Pindur from Swain County had an individual win in the 800 Meter finishing in 2:19.26. She then was a member of two victorious relay teams for the Maroon Devils, the 3200 Relay and the 1600 Relay. Rebecca Duncan, Lynsey Hicks and Lily Richard teamed with anchor Pindur to post 10:10.14 in the 3200. In the 1600 Maggie Burns, Mallerie Clampitt, Pindur and anchor Hicks posted a time of 4:13.10 to win the event.

Breah Taylor from East Carteret was a winner in the Triple Jump as she spanned 37’ 5.5”. She then joined the 400 Meter Relay team anchoring the group of Madison Donald, Kayla Stewart and Nyshia Godette to claim the event in :50.18 seconds.

1A Men’s Meet: Mount Airy edges Atkins to win back-to-back titles

Mount Airy earned the school’s second Outdoor Track and Field Team Championship in back-to-back fashion holding off challenges from Atkins and Walkertown. The Granite Bears outscored second-place Atkins 64-45 with Walkertown in third at 44 points.

The Granite Bears were led by hurler Gabriel King who was the winner of the Shot Put and Discus events. King threw 51’ 3.5” in the Shot Put before tossing a distance of 147’ 9” in the discus for a double-victory.

The Mount Airy 800 Meter Relay team was the other top-spot earner for the Granite Bears. Austin Tumbarello, Grayson Corbin, Donovan Greene and Malik Frost combined for a time of 1:29.70. The group edged the Atkins team of Garrett Whitaker Kaleb Ingram, Jonathon Haggler and Maiz Lawson by just 14-hundredths of a second in the event.

Atkins runners took first place in two of the four relay events of the meet. Cameron Attucks, Lawson, Adrian Pearson and Jeremy Kankula won the 1600 Relay in 3:28.87 for the Camels. Kankula anchored the victorious 3200 Relay, teaming with Elijah Nelson, Ben Armentrout and Connor Rudel to post a time of 8:18.01.

Haji McDaniels from Walkertown was a double-winner in the field events. McDaniels posted victories in the Long Jump and Triple Jump. His Long Jump spanned 21’ 10” while his Triple Jump distance was 46’ 2.5”.

Luke Bennett from Voyager Academy was also a double-winner sweeping the two longest individual distances. Bennett claimed the 1600 in 4:30.11 and ran away with the 3200 in a time of 9:48.92.

Raleigh Charter’s Enoch Cheung captured both hurdles events. He won the 110 Meter Hurdles in :15.06 before taking the 300 Meter Intermediate Hurdles in a time of :39.94.

3A Women’s Meet: West Carteret nabs first team title by edging Cuthbertson

West Carteret held off Cuthberston 62-55 to win the school’s first Outdoor Track and Field Team Championship. The team had two individual event winners on their way to the crown.

Mackenzie Whitaker gave West Carteret their victory in the field events. Whitaker took the Long Jump by spanning 18’ 4” with her leap. Emme Fisher grabbed the school’s running event individual title by winning the 800 Meter Dash in 2:15.69.

Cuthbertson was on West Carteret’s heels all day, as the Cavaliers won three events during the meet. Sara LaTour dominated the distance disciplines, winning the 1600 in 5:03.03 and the 3200 in 11:22.35. Jaelyn Warren added a High Jump crown to the Cavaliers haul clearing 5’ 4”.

Nash Central got a win in the 400 Meter Dash from Michaela Nelms. She completed the distance in :55.80 seconds. Nelms later ran the lead leg for the victorious 1600 Meter Relay team, joining with Carisha Leonard, T’Keyah Macklin and Teona Hill to finish the race in 3:59.03.

In the wheelchair events, Weddington athlete Elizabeth Becker posted very solid times in four events. She finished the 100 Meters in :20.48, the 200 in :36.82, the 400 in 1:41.08 and the 800 in 2:37.65.

3A Men’s Meet: Weddington dominates to capture school’s first State Championship

The Weddington Warriors captured two of the State Championship Meet’s four relay races on their way to the school’s first Outdoor Team Track and Field title. The Warriors dominated the meet, outscoring second-place Marvin Ridge 68-34.5.

Warrior relays won the 3200 Meter Relay and the 400 Meter Relay. Stephen Larson, Carson Glatz, Will Mazur and Kyle Durham teamed up to take down the 3200 in 7:58.75. In the 400 Relay Denison Livingston, Emerson Douds, Mark Conner and Doug Dracon churned out a :42.04 second time.

Northwood’s Cameron Council was the only individual to win two individual events. Council was top spot in the 200 and 400 Meter Dashes. He posted times of :21.74 seconds and :48.39 seconds respectively in the event victories.

The competition in the field events was highly charged with six individuals from six different schools claiming an event win. Gabriel Stainback from Concord was the High Jump winner clearing 6’ 06”. Samuel Johnson took the Long Jump crossing 21’ 09.50”. Jamin Glenn from Hickory Ridge was the Triple Jump champion skipping 48’ 06.25”. Brett Parks from White Oak cleared 15’ 3” to win the Pole Vault. Shot Put went to Southern Guilford’s Aaron Wilkerson with a throw of 60’ 3.5” while Rocky Mount’s Sherrod Greene won the Discus again with a toss of 154’ 9.5”.