2013 NCHSAA Cheerleading Invitational


       RALEIGH— Cornelius W.A. Hough captured the Carolina Cup in the 11th annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state invitational cheerleading championships at the Raleigh Convention Center on Saturday.

       Cheer Ltd., Inc., the NCHSAA’s corporate partner that assists with the invitational championship, has established the Carolina Cup to recognize annually the top high school varsity cheerleading team in the state.   It goes to the varsity-level team that earns the highest cumulative score in the whole competition, regardless of the division in which it competes.

       Hough scored 130.8 points, the highest score of the entire event, to win the large varsity division and grab the Carolina Cup.

Middle Creek, Ledford, Raleigh Millbrook, Jamestown Ragsdale, Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons, North Gaston and Raleigh Sanderson are the previous winners of the Cup.

Ledford earned the title in the super large varsity division. Waxhaw Marvin Ridge was the top squad in the medium varsity division and Asheville T.C. Roberson was the champion in the small varsity division.

In other varsity results, the non tumble categories went to East Bend Forbush in the large, North Buncombe in the medium and Hampstead Topsail in the small.

Davie took top honors in the small varsity co-ed division. Greensboro Dudley was first in the high school non-mount category.

       In junior varsity competition, Cary Panther Creek was the champion in the small junior varsity division while Raleigh Millbrook took the large junior varsity category and Eastern Guilford captured the junior varsity non-tumble division.

       A total of 140 teams registered to participate in the event.



11th annual Invitational Cheerleading Championship

Raleigh Convention Center

November 16, 2013

Final results: champions are listed, followed by the runners-up and point totals in each division.

Small junior varsity (5 to 15 members)

Champion— Cary Panther Creek       112.45

Corinth-Holders       108.85; Wake Forest Heritage 107.1; Indian Trail Porter Ridge 104.6; Apex 103.5; Western Harnett 101.05; Harnett Central 93.05; Fuquay-Varina 92.1.


Large junior varsity (16 and up)

       Champion— Raleigh Millbrook                                    109.6

       Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 106.05; Greenville D.H. Conley 105.75; Wilmington Hoggard 100.65; East Forsyth 98.9; East Duplin 80.95.


Junior varsity non-tumble

       Champion— Eastern Guilford                                    116

                         Canton Pisgah 110.85; Lumberton 108.7; Camden 108.55; Fayetteville Pine Forest 106.75; Pembroke Purnell Swett 106.55; Richlands 97.7; Farmville Central 94.8; Northside (Jacksonville) 94.0; Topsail 92.05; Wilson Fike 89.1; South Columbus 80.8.


High school non-mount

       Champion—Greensboro Dudley                                    107.65

       Northern Vance                  86.15.


Small varsity non tumble

       Champion—Topsail                                                      125.95

       Jamestown Ragsdale 125.05; Asheville A.C. Reynolds 122.3; Camden 120.8; North Johnston 119.6; Eastern Guilford 118.2; North Gaston 117.8; Swain 116.9; Dixon 116.45; Charles D. Owen 115.8; Southwest Onslow 110.1; Ashe County 109.2; Wilson Beddingfield 108.15; South Brunswick 106.55; South Creek 103.5; Farmville Central 101.45; Wilson Fike 101.2; North Carolina School of Science and Math 98.7; East Bladen 94.05; North Forsyth 89.3.


Medium varsity non tumble

       Champion—North Buncombe                                    124.75

       Richlands 112.4; Fairmont 112.0; Wilmington New Hanover 111.35; Cameron Union Pines 109.8; East Duplin 106.55; Nash Central 104.4; West Stokes 102.9; Rocky Point Heide Trask 97.35; Gates County 97.30; Northside (Jacksonville) 86.35


Large varsity non tumble

       Champion—East Bend Forbush                                    127.55

       Elizabeth City Northeastern 123.85; Canton Pisgah 119.75; West Iredell 117.25; Northern Durham 114.8; West Brunswick 112.55; Shelby 111.6; Matthews David Butler 111.0; Southern Wayne 110.2; West Columbus 108.4; Rocky Mount 103.35; Currituck 100.45; North Pitt 89.75.


Small varsity (5 fo 12 members)

       Champion—Asheville T.C. Roberson                  121.0

       Raleigh Leesville Road 117.6; Wake Forest Heritage 114.5; Cherryville 114.2; South Iredell 104.95; Trinity Wheatmore 98.35.


Medium varsity (13 to 16 members)

       Champion— Waxhaw Marvin Ridge                  119.6

       Maiden 119.35; Raleigh Sanderson 117.2; Fuquay-Varina 116.45; Harnett Central 110.7; Newport Croatan 108.95; Cary Green Hope 107.7; Durham Riverside 107.25; Corinth-Holders 107.1; Cary 104.6; Monroe Parkwood 103.4; Lake Norman Charter 99.45; Southeast Raleigh 97.35; Swansboro 94.8.


Large varsity (17 to 20 members)

       Champion—Cornelius W.A. Hough                  130.8

       Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 127.6; Lake Norman 118.15;Apex Middle Creek 115.9; Weddington 115.0; Cary Panther Creek 114.7; Indian Trail Porter Ridge 112.75; Sun Valley 111.35; Greenville D.H. Conley 110.9; Pikeville Charles B. Aycock 107.9; Wilmington Hoggard 98.6; Southern Alamance 96.95; Jacksonville White Oak 91.9; Cleveland 74.4.


Super large varsity (21-plus members)

       Champion— Ledford                                                       122.9

       Apex 119.15; Holly Springs 111.35; Hope Mills Gray’s Creek 111.25; East Forsyth 110.7; Lenoir Hibriten 110.65; Lumberton 109.1; Charlotte Catholic 108.1; Northwest Guilford 107.75; Western Harnett 106.8; Marshville Forest Hills 101.65.


Small varsity coed (2 to 4 males)

       Champion— Davie                                                      125.3

       Overhills 115.2; Pembroke Purnell Swett 104.5; South Caldwell 97.45.