North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Heart Of A Champion Honorees Listed

Sportsmanship Recognition for NCHSAA Student-Athletes As Heart Of A Champion Winners Honored

CHAPEL HILL– A total of 22 student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools will be honored for their outstanding sportsmanship as winners of “Heart of a Champion” recognition.

The sportsmanship recognition is part of the program offered by the NCHSAA Student Services Division and is sponsored by the North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company. Mark Dreibelbis, NCHSAA assistant commissioner, and assistant director for student services Chiquana Dancy administer the program.

Each of the NCHSAA member schools had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the recognition. The students must have participated in at least one varsity sport or activity, including cheerleading, during the 2010-11 school year, have not been ejected from any contest, and must have demonstrated outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship during their high school careers. The students filled out an application questionnaire and then a school official, such as the principal or athletic director, also provided an evaluation.

The students will be honored at a luncheon on Saturday, June 11, at the Radisson Governors’ Inn in the Research Triangle Park.

“We are proud of the achievements of this select group of student-athletes,” said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield. “With recognitions such as these, we are continuing our emphasis on sportsmanship and the important lessons high school athletics teach.”

North Carolina Farm Bureau Heart of a Champion 2011 Honorees:

Student Athlete School Nominator

James Ayscue, Millbrook (Scott McInnes)

Leigh-Kathryn Bonner, Millbrook (Scott McInnes)

Meghan Boston, Clyde A. Erwin (David Ball)

Sarah Brown, Bunker Hill (Randy Joines)

Hunter Bryant, Clyde A. Erwin (David Ball)

Cierra Burdick, Butler (Janet Prevatte)

Jarret Camp,Butler (Janet Prevatte)

Kirby Carpenter, West Stanly (Wendy Tucker)

Callie Davis, Lumberton (Kenneth Simmons)

Keston Frazier, Albemarle (Joanne Hesley)

Heather Gill, Mattamuskeet ( Lisa Spencer)

Jenna Huff, North Stanly ( Tommy Harkey)

Jonathan Mabe, North Wilkes (Ed Martin)

Sara Marshall, West Iredell (Mark Weycker)

Trey Mashore, West Rowan (Todd Bell)

Garrison Matthews, Cape Fear (Tony McMillan)

Craig Mitchell, Fuquay-Varina (Dwight Harrell)

Samuel Nelson, Thomasville (Brad Phillips)

Jessica Roberts, North Wilkes (Michael Greene)

Shelby Sedberry, West Stanly (Wendy Tucker)

Austin Smith, West Iredell (Mark Weycker)

Taryn Stern, Hickory Ridge (Chris Balga)