Heart Of A Champion Honorees Listed

Sportsmanship Recognition for NCHSAA Student-Athletes

As “Heart Of A Champion” Winners Honored

CHAPEL HILL–A total of 28 student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools will be honored for their outstanding sportsmanship as winners of “Heart of a Champion” recognition.

The sportsmanship recognition is part of the program offered by the NCHSAA Student Services Division and is sponsored by the North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company. Mark Dreibelbis, NCHSAA assistant commissioner, and assistant director for student services Chiquana Dancy administer the program.

Each of the NCHSAA member schools had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the recognition. The students must have participated in at least one varsity sport, including cheerleading, during the 2009-10 school year, have not been ejected from any contest, and must have demonstrated outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship during their high school careers. The students filled out an application questionnaire and then a school official, such as the principal or athletic director, also provided an evaluation.

The students will be honored at a luncheon on Saturday, June 12, at the Radisson Governors Inn in the Research Triangle Park.

“We are proud to recognize this select group of student-athletes for the manner in which they compete and their attitudes toward their competitors,” said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield. “Sportsmanship is about respecting your opponents and these individuals exemplify these qualities.”

North Carolina Farm Bureau Heart of a Champion 2010 Honorees:

Student Athlete School (Nominator)

David Anderson, Butler (Janet Prevatte)

Adam Aycock, Warren County (Patrick Draffin)

Amanda Aycock, Warren County (Folami Alston)

Kayla Barnett, West Rowan (Todd Bell)

Dail Berry , Mattamuskeet (Lisa Spencer)

Brittany Brew, E.A. Laney (Edmund McCaffray)

Zachary Caldwell, West Stanly (Wendy Tucker)

Coree Coley, Forest Hills (Lacy Hart, Eddie Rivers, Warren Taylor)

Jaalen Corpening, McDowell (Brian Franklin)

Chelsea Dyson, West Iredell (Mark Weycker)

Jamilia Foster, Reidsville (Lamont Dixon)

Beth Frazier, Ayden-Grifton (Irene Cannon)

Inkira Gibbs, Mattamuskeet (Lisa Spencer)

Taylor Gwaltney, David Butler (Janet Prevatte)

AJ Hopke, Alexander Central (Tom Harper)

Emily Huneycutt, West Stanly (Wendy Tucker)

William Keys, Ayden-Grifton (Irene Cannon)

Drew Kocot, Clyde A. Erwin (David Ball)

Leslie Long, Forbush (Rachel McCollum)

Sarah Maloy, Clyde A. Erwin (David Ball)

Eli Miller, McDowell (Jennifer Brooks)

Timothy Pangburn, West Rowan (Todd Bell)

Trey Pennington, Albemarle (Joanne Hesley)

Philip Price, Sanderson (Robert Catapano)

Bryson Shepherd, West Iredell (Mark Weycker)

Garrett Smith, South Stanly (Elizabeth Nichols)

William Welch, IV, Reidsville (Lamont Dixon)

Jordan Wilkins ,North Stokes (Jessica Byerly)