North Carolina High School Athletic Association

“Heart Of A Champion” Awards To Be Presented

Sportsmanship Recognition for NCHSAA Student-Athletes As “Heart Of A Champion” Winners Honored

CHAPEL HILL—A total of 25 student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools have been recognized for their outstanding sportsmanship as winners of “Heart of a Champion” recognition.

The sportsmanship recognition is part of the program offered by the NCHSAA Student Services Division and is sponsored by the North Caroilna Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company. Mark Dreibelbis, NCHSAA assistant executive director, and student services assistant Chiquana Dancy administer the program.

Each of the NCHSAA member schools had the opportunity to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the recognition. The students must have participated in at least one varsity sport, including cheerleading, during the 2007-08 school year, have not been ejected from any contest, and must have demonstrated outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship during their high school careers. The students filled out an application questionnaire and then a school official, such as the principal or athletic director, also provided an evaluation.

The students will be honored at a luncheon on Saturday, June 7, at the Radisson Governors’ Inn in the Research Triangle Park.

North Carolina Farm Bureau Heart of a Champion 2008 Honorees:

Student Athlete School Nominator

Annie Alvarez Raleigh Sanderson Robert Catapano

Mary Kathryn Anderson West Bladen Teresa Coleman

Michele Avara Matthews David Butler Janet Prevatte

Michael Bass Fairmont Michael Baker

Robert Blanton Matthews David Butler Janet Prevatte

Sarah Bowman Alexander Central Tom Harper

Joseph Butler, IV Lumberton Jessica Embry

Amber Combs North Wilkes Michael Greene

Christopher Crockett South Stanly Elizabeth Nichols

Jade Farlow South Stanly Elizabeth Nichols

Ethan Ford Alexander Central Tom Harper

Kelsea Greene McDowell Brian Franklin

Caleb Hedden Asheville Clyde A. Erwin David Ball

Brent Heideman, Jr. Charlotte Providence Steve Touranjoe

Anthony Hezar Western Alamance Lance Huff

Christopher Jessup Fayetteville Cape Fear Anthony McMillan

Olivia Langdon South Johnston Mickey Bridgers

Shalom Martinez Asheville Clyde A. Erwin David Ball

Dennis McNair, Jr. West Bladen Teresa Coleman

Courtney Meiggs Camden County Ralph Duncan

Ryan Parker South Johnston Mickey Bridgers

Perry Simmons Raleigh Sanderson Robert Catapano

Hillary Taylor Raleigh Millbrook Kathy Stefanou

Jared Thompson West Iredell Mark Weycker

Yvette Wyatt Burlington Williams Kyle Hayes