Gabby Mayo, Dee Bost Are NCHSAA Athletes Of The Year

CHAPEL HILL — Gabby Mayo of Southeast Raleigh High School and Dee Bost of Concord High School have been named winners of the 2007 Athlete of the Year awards by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA).

These are the top athletic awards given by the NCHSAA to honor the most outstanding male and female high school athletes in the state. They were presented at the Dean E, Smith Center on the University of North Carolina campus during the NCHSAA’s Annual Meeting on Thursday.

Both of the winners were nominated and selected by a special panel of media representatives from across the state. They were each presented with the Pat Best Memorial Trophy, named for the former Goldsboro High principal and president of the NCHSAA who died unexpectedly in 1988.

“We congratulate these fine student-athletes on their great achievements during their high school careers,” said Charlie Adams, executive director of the NCHSAA. “Both have tremendously impressive credentials along the lines of the previous outstanding winners of this award, and we certainly wish them the best in the future.”

Bost pulled off an unprecedented feat this year, winning the state 3-A championship Most Valuable Player award in both football and basketball, leading Concord to state titles in both sports.

In football, he was moved to the quarterback position after his team started 0-3 and then the Spiders reeled off 13 consecutive victories. He completed 63 percent of his passes this season and threw for almost 3,000 yards and 25 touchdowns.

In basketball, he averaged 15 points and five assists per game. He earned the Most Valuable Player award in the Western Regional two consecutive years and poured in 27 points in the state 3-A championship game to lead Concord to an 85-79 decision over Kinston in the state title game. Then he went on to earn the MVP honors in the Carolinas All-Star basketball classic as he led North Carolina to victory over South Carolina in that game in Rock Hill, S.C.

Mayo has been a star on the national stage in track and has put her name in the record books in North Carolina in both indoor and outdoor track.

She has won three different individual championships in indoor track, including taking top honors in the 55-meter dash the last two years. She has earned 12 individual state track titles and has broken six state records thus far while winning four different events in the NCHSAA 4-A outdoor championships.

Mayo has been chosen as the 2006 Youth Athlete of the Year by USA Track and Field and has run the fastest time in the country in both the 100 and 200 meters. She represented the United States in the Junior World Competition in China and helped set a junior world record in the four by 100 relay there.

This is the 22nd year in which awards have been given to the top overall male and female athletes. Previous winners of the award include:


Winners of the Pat Best Memorial Trophy

Female and Male

1985-86 Pam Doggett, Dudley

Patrick Lennon, Whiteville

1986-87 Andrea Stinson, North Mecklenburg

Robert Siler, Jordan-Matthews

1987-88 LeAnn Kennedy, Trinity

Chester McGlockton, Whiteville

1988-89 Danyel Parker, Clinton

Ethan Albright, Grimsley

1989-90 Karen Davis, Forbush

David Inman, Terry Sanford

1990-91 Christy Cagle, Hayesville

Mike Kendall, Albemarle

1991-92 Wendy Palmer, Person

Rusty LaRue, Northwest Guilford

1992-93 Holly Hill, Southwestern Randolph

Tyrone Westmoreland, South Iredell

1993-94 Jamie Parsons, Millbrook

Brian Roseboro, T.Wingate Andrews

1994-95 Aedrin Murray, Chatham Central

Na Brown, Reidsville

1995-96 Shea Ralph, Terry Sanford

Titcus Pettigrew, West Forsyth

1996-97 Jackie Houston, Kings Mountain

Tyrell Godwin, East Bladen

1997-98 Clifeteana McKiver, East Duplin

Julius Peppers, Southern Nash

1998-99 Anna Tharrington, Southern Nash

Nick Maddox, A.L. Brown

1999-2000 Courtney Willis, Terry Sanford

Manny DeShauteurs, Brevard

2000-01 Molly Pyles, Hendersonville

Derrele Mitchell, R.J. Reynolds

2001-02 Katrelle Armwood, Durham School of Arts

A.J. Davis, Northern Durham

2002-03 Anna Evans, Lumberton

Drew Williamson, Cummings

2003-04 Eva Baucom, Forest Hills

Jim Ollis, Polk County

2004-05 Jessie Sims, West Henderson

Terrell Hudgins, Rocky Mount

2005-06 Megan Zullo, Farmville Central

Kendric Burney, Southwest Onslow

2006-07 Gabby Mayo, Southeast Raleigh

Dee Bost, Concord

Over 140,000 athletes compete in the NCHSAA’s 21-sport program.