2007 NCHSAA Cheerleading Invitational

RALEIGH— Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons captured the top honor, the Carolina Cup, in the fifth annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state invitational cheerleading championships at Reynolds Coliseum on Saturday.

Cheer Ltd., Inc., one of the NCHSAA’s corporate partners that assists with the invitational championship, established the Carolina Cup to recognize annually the top high school varsity cheerleading team in the state. Cardinal Gibbons won the Cup for earning the highest cumulative score in the whole competition among varsity teams, regardless of the division in which they compete. North Gaston and Raleigh Sanderson are the previous winners of the Carolina Cup.

Gibbons got past perennial power Lake Norman, which had taken at least one title in every previous invitational championship, to win the super varsity division. Currituck edged Sun Valley on a tiebreaker in the large varsity category.

Jamestown Ragsdale slipped past Raleigh Broughton in the super large varsity competition while Lumberton won the small varsity co-ed category.

Matthews David Butler earned the title in the medium varsity division for the fourth year in a row and Wilson Beddingfield took the crown in the small varsity division.

In non-tumble competition, North Buncombe was the champion in the small varsity and Elizabeth City Northeastern was the top team in the large varsity division for the second straight year.

Among the junior varsity teams competing, Wilmington Hoggard took top honors in the large JV division and Morrisville Green Hope won the small JV.

A record number of just 100 teams participated in the event.


5th annual Invitational Cheerleading Championship

Reynolds Coliseum, Raleigh

November 17,2007

Final results:

Small junior varsity (5 to 15 members)

champion— Morrisville Green Hope 238

1st runner-up— Randleman 225.5

2nd runner-up— South Johnston 219

3rd runner-up— Fayetteville Pine Forest 214

Large junior varsity (16 and up)

Champion— Wilmington Hoggard 229

1st runner-up—Raleigh Millbrook 225.5

2nd runner-up—Lumberton 225

Small varsity non-tumble (19 and fewer)

Champion—North Buncombe 251

1st runner-up – Jacksonville White Oak 234

2nd runner-up—Hampstead Topsail 232

3rd runner-up— Cameron Union Pines 229.5

4th runner-up—Waynesville Tuscola 222.5

Large varsity non-tumble (20 and up)

champion— Elizabeth City Northeastern 246

1st runner-up—Seven Springs Spring Creek 232.5

2nd runner-up—East Surry 230

Small varsity (5 to 12 members)

champion— Wilson Beddingfield 221

1st runner-up— West Iredell 212.5

2nd runner-up— Princeton 209.5

Medium varsity (13 to 16 members)

champion—Matthews David Butler 269.5

1st runner-up—Durham Riverside 256

2nd runner-up— Huntersville Hopewell 251.5*

3rd runner-up— Fayetteville Terry Sanford 251.5

4th runner-up— Wilmington Hoggard 235

5th runner-up— Wilson Hunt 232

*won tiebreaker on score for overall appeal

Large varsity (17 to19 members)

champion— Currituck 243.5*

1st runner-up— Monroe Sun Valley 243.5

2nd runner-up—South Caldwell 243

3rd runner-up—Morrisville Green Hope 231

4th runner-up—East Duplin 230

5th runner-up—North Lincoln 229.6

*won tiebreaker on score for overall appeal

Super varsity (20 to 21 members)

champion— Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 271.5

1st runner-up— Mooresville Lake Norman 261.5

2nd runner-up— Waxhaw Marvin Ridge 256

3rd runner-up—Raleigh Sanderson 248.5

4th runner-up—North Gaston 244.5

Super large varsity (22-plus members)

champion— Jamestown Ragsdale 243.5

1st runner-up— Raleigh Broughton 242.5

2nd runner-up— Weddington 236.5

3rd runner-up—Southern Alamance 231

Small varsity coed (2 to 4 males)

champion— Lumberton 233.5

1st runner-up— Davie 227

2nd runner-up— Lumberton Purnell Swett 213