North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Field Set For NCHSAA Volleyball Finals On Saturday


RALEIGH – The 37th edition of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association state volleyball championships is slated for Saturday at historic Reynolds Coliseum on the North Carolina State University campus.

The opener of the quadruple header gets underway with the 2-A final at noon as South Granville (22-5) takes on perennial power North Surry (32-2). South Granville, led by Carolina 12 Player of the Year Mary Catherine Preddy, is in the championship match for the first time while North Surry is in the finals for the third time with the 2009 championship under its collective belt. Kristina Rumplasch is one of the Greyhounds’ top players.

The 3-A championship at 2:30 will have defending 3-A champion Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons (19-3) China Grove Jesse Carson (35-3).

Gibbons returns to the championships for the eighth consecutive year (in two different classifications) and is led by 6-3 middle blocker Haleigh Nelson, who is bound for Wisconsin to continue her career. Jesse Carson, a team with only two seniors, swept Enka in three sets on Wednesday night in a weather-delayed Western Regional to advance to the finals. Carson is seeking its first NCHSAA state championship in any sport.

The 4-A final at 5 pm features undefeated Raleigh Leesville Road (27-0) against Charlotte Ardrey Kell (30-1). Leesville is enjoying its best season in school history and is led by Kati Stammen, who was named Player of the Year in the Cap 8. Ardrey Kell, under veteran coach Zoe Bell, is back in the finals for the first time since its 2009 runner-up finish and also has its best record since the school opened. Senior libero Sarah Wyczawski is a key player for Ardrey Kell.

       The 1-A championship at 7:30 pm is a battle between the Phoenix of Raleigh Charter (22-5) and the Bearcats of Hendersonville (20-6). Hendersonville is in the finals for an amazing 12th time, with nine previous state championships, and has won an incredible 77 playoff matches all-time. Conference player of the year Joanna Powers leads Raleigh Charter.

       Time Warner Cable will be providing television coverage of all four state championships on Carolina On Demand, channels 199 or 1047, on Time Warner systems. The games will be available starting Sunday evening on Time Warner Cable systems statewide.

       The Raleigh Sports Consortium, the City of Raleigh and the Raleigh Convention and Visitors Bureau serve as host city sponsors for this event.



Reynolds Coliseum, North Carolina State University

Saturday, November 3, 2012

CLASS AA – noon

South Granville High School Vikings (22-5) vs. North Surry High School Greyhounds (32-2)

CLASS AAA – 2:30 pm

Cardinal Gibbons High School Crusaders (19-3) vs. China Grove Jesse Carson High School Cougars (35-3)


Raleigh Leesville Road High School Pride (27-0) vs. Charlotte Ardrey Kell High School Knights (30-1)

CLASS A –7:30 pm

Raleigh Charter High School Phoenix (22-5) vs. Hendersonville High School Bearcats (20-6)