Edgecombe County High Schools Have New Principals

     TARBORO – The Edgecombe County Public Schools (ECPS) system is ready to kick off a new school year with the announcement of school-based leadership this academic year, according to a release from the school system.

     Several schools welcome new faces to the district, while others have changed administrative roles within the system.

     Robert Batts has been named as the new principal at Tarboro High School. He was formerly the principal at North Edgecombe High School.  Joining the administrative team with Batts at Tarboro are Terry Hopkins and Hillary Boutwell.  Both Hopkins and Boutwell will be assistant principals.  Hopkins is coming from Wilson County Schools, while Boutwell was most recently a Choral Music Educator at South Edgecombe and West Edgecombe Middle Schools.

     Brian Hopkins is the new principal at North Edgecombe High School (NEHS).  He was a highly successful administrator in Nash-Rocky Mount Schools prior to coming to the Edgecombe County system.  Serving with Hopkins is Joseph Biggs, who was an assistant principal at C. B. Martin Middle School last year.  Biggs will be the new assistant principal at North Edgecombe.