Defending Champ Parkland Wins Again In 3-A Wrestling



WINSTON-SALEM — Winston-Salem Parkland rolled to its third straight team state championship on Saturday night in the North Carolina High School Athletic Association state 3-A wrestling tournament championships at the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum.

Parkland, which also won the NCHSAA dual team title earlier this month, scored a total of 148 points to 99 for runner-up Hickory St. Stephens. Trinity was third at 93 points, followed by Mooresville with 84 and Jamestown Ragsdale with 78.5.

Parkland’s strength in the middle weights was evident as five Parkland wrestlers made it to the state final in their respective weight classes. Luis Ramos (140), Desean Grimes-Hines (152) and Marciano Ali (160) earned individual state championships for Parkland, with Ali finishing with a perfect 65-0 record on the season.

Jamestown Ragsdale’s Jacob Creed, the 135-pound champion and one of two Ragsdale individual titlists—Brandon Hodges at 130 was the other—was the Most Outstanding Wrestler of the championships.

Wendy’s is the presenting sponsor for the NCHSAA sports program, and the event was sponsored by Visit Winston-Salem.



Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum

Champ Finals – 3A

103–Ray Farnsworth (St Stephens) p. Francisco Arcos (Williams) 3:44; 112–Timdarius Thurston (Tw Andrews) m.d. Robert Golde (Northwest Cabarrus) 12-4; 119–Justin Vaughn (Williams) d. Scott Acosta (Trinity) 5-2; 125–Daniel Ownbey (Enka) d. Chris Rivas (Parkland) 4-2; 130–Brandon Hodges (Ragsdale) d. Luke Dutch (Northwest Cabarrus) 3-2; 135–Jacob Creed (Ragsdale) m.d. Brian Thompson (Parkland) 12-1; 140–Luis Ramos (Parkland) d. Dylan Cala (South Point) 4-2; 145–Justin Rice (North Buncombe) d. Nick Vetell (Trinity) 4-2; 152–Desean Grimes-hines (Parkland) d. Terrance Zaleski (White Oak) 3-1 (OT); 160–Marciano Ali (Parkland) p. Jeff Ross (Currituck) 3:31; 171–Chris Hill (Mooresville) m.d. Justin Moore (Washington) 9-1; 189–Harrison Honeycutt (Lake Norman) d. Prath Bruton (Mooresville) 3-2; 215–Dereck Holloman (West Carteret) d. Kenneth Lindsey (Southern Lee) 17-11; 285–Charles Millea (Havelock) d. Garrett Frank (Trinity) 1-0

Champ Finals – 3A Team Standings

Parkland 148; St Stephens 99; Trinity 93; Mooresville 84; Ragsdale 78.5; Williams 72; Northwest Cabarrus 69; Enka 61; Dudley 54; Washington 54; Southwestern Randolph 53; Al Brown 48; Lake Norman 42; North Buncombe 39.5; Currituck 35.5; Southern Alamance 35.5; Havelock 32; Southern Lee 29.5; White Oak 29; West Carteret 28; Tw Andrews 25; Union Pines 25; North Iredell 22; South Point 22; East Rowan 21; South Johnston 20; Southwest Guilford 19; Charlotte Catholic 18; Tuscola 18; Western Guilford 17; Southwest Edgecombe 16; Morehead 14; South Central 14; Western Harnett 14; Gray’s Creek 13; Nash Central 13; West Brunswick 12; Eastern Randolph 11.5; Rs Central 11; Anson County 10; Triton 9; Northern Nash 8; Overhills 7; Northern Vance 5; South Rowan 5; Erwin 4; Glenn 4; Northern Guilford 4; Western Alamance 3.5; Asheville 3; Fike 3; Webb 3; West Craven 3; Concord 2; Dh Conley 2; Eastern Alamance 2; Fred T Foard 2; Hunter Huss 2; Marvin Ridge 2; Rocky Mount 2; Southeast Guilford 2; Sun Valley 2; Asheboro 1; Cb Aycock 1; Porter Ridge 1; Waddell 1; Bartlett Yancey 0; Hickory Ridge 0; Jacksonville 0; Olympic 0; Rockingham County 0; Southern Wayne 0; Statesville 0; Tc Roberson 0; West Rowan 0; Piedmont -3