North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Coaches Earn Homer Thompson Sportsmanship Awards From NCHSAA

                  CHAPEL HILL– Eight "coaches who make a difference" by virtue of their exemplary sportsmanship will be honored by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association at the NCHSAA Annual Meeting.
                  The coaches have been selected for the Homer Thompson Memorial Eight Who Make a Difference award. The award is named in honor of the late Homer Thompson, the long-time Winston-Salem Parkland coach and member of the NCHSAA Hall of Fame. Each honoree will receive the award at the Smith Center on May 1.
        “Homer Thompson’s name is affixed to this award because he certainly did make a difference in the lives of many and truly was an outstanding role model,” said NCHSAA commissioner Davis Whitfield.
        The winners were chosen by a special committee based on nominations from the member schools. They will receive a plaque as part of the Association's student services program. 
                  Coaches receiving this honor for 2013-14 include the following:
                  Region 1:              Chris Ross, athletic director and former head baseball coach, Ayden-Grifton High School 
                  Region 2:              Chris Mueller, head cross country and head track and field coach, White Oak High School, Jacksonville
                  Region 3:              Jennifer Pepin, head cross country and women's track and field coach, Cedar Ridge High School, Hillsborough
                  Region 4:              Milton Butts, head football coach, Hoke County High School
                  Region 5:              Brian Nance, head men’s basketball coach, Asheboro High School
                  Region 6:              Mike Gurley, head men’s basketball coach, West Rowan High School 
                  Region 7:              Todd Clontz, head women’s golf coach and administrative assistant, Alexander Central High School
                  Region 8:              Joey Robinson, athletic director and head football coach, Mountain Heritage High School, Burnsville
        Each school had the opportunity to nominate one of its coaches for this award. "These coaches are excellent role models who provide support and encouragement to our young people," says Whitfield.
                  The North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company underwrites the recognition for high school coaches.

NCHSAA FastFacts
Award: "Eight Who Make A Difference," Homer Thompson Sportsmanship Awards
Presented at: NCHSAA Annual Meeting
Presented to: coaches nominated by their respective schools for exemplary sportsmanship
Named for: the late Homer Thompson, long-time coach at Winston-Salem Parkland and member of NCHSAA Hall of Fame
Sponsored by: North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance
Of Interest: The first awards presented in this series were in 1993.