Chapel Hill Sweeps Both 4-A Cross Country Titles

CLEMMONS— Chapel Hill swept both North Carolina High School Athletic Association state 4-A cross-country team championships on Saturday in action at Tanglewood Park.

The Chapel Hill men, led by individual winner Taylor Gilland of the Tigers, had 52 points to104 for Charlotte Myers Park and 136 for Raleigh Enloe. On the women’s side, Chapel Hill had 40 points to 78 for runner-up Charlotte Providence. Sophomore Kim Spano of North Mecklenburg was the individual 4-A women’s winner, outdistancing the field by almost 30 seconds in 18:20.92.

Both Chapel Hill teams were defending champions in the 4-A classification.

T,C, Roberson of Asheville won its third straight women’s title with 46 points to 106 for Asheville. Roberson’s Caroline Kirby, a junior, won her second consecutive individual crown in 19:09.34.

Mooresville captured the men’s 3-A team title with 75 points to 119 for second-place Roberson. Hickory’s Ryan Hill was the individual champ in 16:00.10.

Cardinal Gibbons of Raleigh won both the men’s and women ‘s team titles in 2-A. Sean Howell of Cardinal Gibbons was the individual men’s winner while Heather Beichner of Gibbons was the women’s titlist.

Hayesville slipped past Kernersville Bishop McGuinness in the 1-A women’s team standings, scoring 61 points to 64 for McGuinness. Topsail, which finished third, produced the individual champ in Zatha Loewen in a time of 19:22.76.

The 1-A men’s team crown went to the North Carolina School of Science and Math with 31 points, followed by Hayesville with 59. Kyle Ingram of Hayesville, in a time of 16:21.30, was the champ by over 40 seconds.

Full results are available at