North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Championships In Women’s Tennis Set In Four Classifications

CHAPEL HILL—Four different classifications will determine individual champions this weekend as the North Carolina High School Athletic Association holds its annual women’s tennis championships.

State crowns in singles and doubles will be up for grabs, but no team score is determined. The team championships will be decided by the dual team tournament that concludes with its championships on November 5.

Action will get underway on Friday morning at ten o’clock in all classifications, with championship matches set for Saturday afternoon except in 1-A. The 1-A finals will be Saturday morning.

Both the 1-A and 2-A championships are slated for the Cary Tennis Center. Site for the 3-A championships is the Burlington Parks and Recreation Tennis Center, while the 4-A event will be played at the Millbrook Exchange Park in Raleigh.

In the 4-A ranks, a string of 10 consecutive years for a Raleigh Broughton player to play in the state singles championship was snapped last year when Teresa Wang of North Mecklenburg beat Greensboro Page’s Brooke Walker in three sets for the crown.

Two-time defending 2-A singles champion Britney Cloer of Brevard has qualified and will return to defend her title, and defending 1-A singles champ Kasey Mabe of North Stokes returns to try to make it two in a row.

The first NCHSAA women’s tennis championships were held in 1970, and this is the 35th annual tournament. In 1972 two championships were held, one in the spring and then one when the sport switched to fall competition.

Women’s tennis moved to two classifications of play in 1985, three in ’86, and then all four had separate championships for the first time in 1997.

Wendy’s and the Carolinas Ford Dealers are the presenting sponsors of the NCHSAA sports program.



1A East


Stacey Smith– Spring Creek

Beth Lineberger– Bear Grass

Kayce Brantham– Rosewood

Francesca Radi– Topsail


Martha Morris/Brittany Cockreil– Topsail

Amy Hardin/Jami Britt– West Columbus

Christa Jones/Erica Brown– James Kenan

Sarah Smith/Abby Hardison– Williamston

1A West


Kasey Mabe– North Stokes

Anna Klein– Hendersonville

Brittany Sanges– Albemarle

Maggie Ronan– Bishop McGuinness


Jessica Eblen/Jeanne Marie Laborde– Hendersonville

Jenni Kimmich/Brittany Sams– North Stokes

Jennifer Domeron/Molly Parks– Jordan-Matthews

Laken Joyce/Tanna Tilley– North Stokes

2A East


Kathleen Olson– Swansboro

Kelly Fields– St. Pauls

Cuyler Wells– First Flight

Abby Richmon– Edenton Holmes


Meredith Pierson/Paten Carlton– East Duplin

Anna Winslow/Sara Lilley– Pasquotank

Kathleen McReynolds/Sarah Hughes– Swansboro

Katie Parrish/Lauren Williams– Edenton Holmes

2A Mideast


Nancy Reilly– Cardinal Gibbons

Mara Evans– Tarboro

Grace Whitely– Cardinal Gibbons

Rukshona Usmanova– Durham School of Arts


Meredith Rouse/Brittany Horton– Greene Central

Christi Murphy/Ashley Harrell– Greene Central

Miranda Spain/Genelle Wilson– Tarboro

Alice Smith/Maria Tergliafera– West Stokes

2A Midwest


Allie Mills– North Rowan

Susie Wear– Salisbury

Meredith Weisler– Salisbury

Jorden Kinney– North Lincoln


Hollyn Alberghini/Emily Morton– West Stanly

Ellen Emerson/Chris Leonard– Salisbury

Casey Collins/Christina Dunkin– Salisbury

Ashley Auman/Allyson Frick– Lexington

2A West


Britney Cloer– Brevard

Emily Mathis– Wilkes Central

Clare Davis Hyatt– Brevard

Emily Perkins– Surry Central


Betsy Martin/Erin Mode– Shelby

Katherine Pardue/Shana Spencer– Starmount

Laura Rollins/Sarah Brown– Wilkes Central

Lorna Vega/Ivey Tant– Ashe County

3A East


Raychel Batts– C.B. Aycock

Andrea Michalak– Hunt

Janna Oxendine– Nash Central

Ally Rushing– Hertford County


Nicole Taylor/Lizzie Sodoma– C.B. Aycock

Rachel Perkinson/McKenna Cox– Washington

Amanda Keeny/Heather Sanders– Southern Nash

Ashley Pearsall/Emily Hughes– Rocky Mount

3A Mideast


Margaret Kernodle– Burlington Williams

Callie Earles– Morehead

Winnie Quick– Dudley

Rosemary Downing– Southern Alamance


Katie Cox/Caitlin McKenna– Western Guilford

Cayce Wood/Lennon Dodson– Morehead

Andrea Gilley/Julie Reese– Morehead

Mollie Lambert/Megan Colonel– Burlington Williams

3A Midwest


Cameron Chatman– Ragsdale

Lindsey Cannon– Reagan

Catherine Wood– Ragsdale

Kelli Ferguson– Northwest Cabarrus


Stephanie Meiners/Kelly Santore– Porter Ridge

Naadia Crutchfield Kieara Crutchfield– Ragsdale

Laura Holman Keri Holman– West Rowan

Paris Sims/Chelsea Chatman– Ragsdale

3A West


Emily Mauser– Hickory

Lauren Sessoms– South Point

Amanda Massey– North Buncombe

Ashley Brown– Asheville


Emily Carriel/Sara Fender– Forestview

Carolina Kuttner/Alley Leahy– Charlotte Catholic

Erin Hosterman/Rebecca Rhoney– St. Stephens

Stephanie Teague/Caitlin Phillips– Hickory

4A East

Kaitlin Burns– Hoggard

Tamara Sachs–Terry Sanford

Maggie Dickens– Hoggard

Jessica Cook–Scotland


Keenan Whitesides/Caroline Gooch–New Hanover

Lyndsey Michael/Judy Staub–Hoggard

Elizabeth Arnold/Holli Hodge– Richmond

Megan Brigman/Hannah Harling–Scotland

4A Mideast


Ashley Rodgers– Cary

Heather Prior– Wakefield

Julia Howard– East Chapel Hill

Brooke Hoover– Northern Durham


Ariana Deely/Helen Rosko– Apex

Marianne Simpson/Martha Williams– Broughton

Tess Darling/Jennifer Huang– East Chapel Hill

Caroline Mauch/Ida Donner– Jordan

4A Midwest


Beata Debinsky– Mt. Tabor

Caroline Treadaway– West Forsyth

Stacey Karl– Northwest Guilford

Jennifer Ansari– Page


Christine Vanard/Perry Loester– Mt. Tabor

Kayla Duncan/Morgan Rogers– RJ Reynolds

Alice Miller/Lauren Atkinson– Grimsley

Teresa Wang/Jennifer Marvin– North Mecklenburg

4A West


Anna Lee Evans– Watauga

Shondra Redfern– Harding

Kimber Redfern– Harding

Kasey Eillis– South Mecklenburg


Amber Arciero/Christina Calott– Providence

Kathryn Hannon/Sarah Geyer– Ashbrook

Virginia Edahl/Leigh Robison– Providence

Hartley Collins/Carolyn Browning– Myers Park