Cary Wins Fifth NCHSAA 4-A Mat Title In A Row



WINSTON-SALEM – Four-time defending champion Cary made it five state team titles in a row in convincing fashion on Saturday night in the North Carolina High School Athletic Association 4-A wrestling tournament championships at the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum.

Cary, under veteran coach Jerry Winterton, placed four wrestlers in the championship matches and went on to record 126.5 points, ahead of Davie County in second place with 98. All four Cary wrestlers in the finals earned state titles, including Ben Creed at 103 pounds, Gabe Brotzman at 152, Matthew Colvard at 160 and heavyweight Eloheim Palma. Palma, a senior and one of the top ranked wrestlers in the nation, completed a perfect 62-0 season.

The Imps won the dual team championship earlier this month and have now captured six of the last seven NCHSAA tournament titles.

Concord Jay Robinson was third in the team standings with 78.5 points, just ahead of Hope Mills South View with 77. Fayetteville Pine Forest was fifth with 68 points and Fayetteville Seventy-First sixth at 58.5 and Fayetteville Jack Britt seventh at 55 in a strong showing by Cumberland County teams.

Chapel Hill’s Corey Mock won the 135-pound title to become only the seventh four-time champion in NCHSAA history and was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler of the championships.

Wendy’s is the presenting sponsor for the NCHSAA sports program, and the event was sponsored by Visit Winston-Salem.



Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum

Champ Finals – 4A

103–Benjamin Creed (Cary) d. Garrison White (Robinson) 7-2; 112–Kyle Narburgh (Jack Britt) m.d. Michael Waters (Davie County) 14-1; 119–Dominic Parisi (Robinson) m.d. Joshua Craig (Chapel Hill) 9-0; 125–Tyrone Eatmon (Riverside) d. Brett Boston (Freedom) 1-0; 130–Zack Vernon (Davie County) d. Zachary Barkett (South View) 9-6; 135–Corey Mock (Chapel Hill) p. Justin Mcelreath (Sanderson) 1:37; 140–Camden Wilkens (Douglas Byrd) d. Joey Baird (Green Hope) 7-5; 145–Ethan Creek (Jack Britt) d. Byron Briggs (Pine Forest) 1-0; 152–Gabe Brotzman (Cary) m.d. Matt Cusack (Davie County) 17-8; 160–Matthew Colvard (Cary) d. Evan Baker (Scotland County) 2-1; 171–Robbie Wannenburg (West Forsyth) m.d. Andrew Takla (Northern Durham) 9-1; 189–Timmy Mccall (South View) d. Kevin Radford (Pine Forest) 4-3; 215–Karonne Jones (Cape Fear) d. Ben Schultz (East Burke) 10-3; 285–Eloheim Palma (Cary) d. Tyler Shatley (East Burke) 10-4

Champ Finals – 4A Team Standings

Cary 126.5; Davie County 98; Robinson 78.5; South View 77; Pine Forest 68; Seventy-First 58.5; Jack Britt 55.5; Riverside 55; Northwest Guilford 52; Douglas Byrd 51; Chapel Hill 49.5; Sanderson 49; West Forsyth 48.5; East Burke 43; New Bern 41.5; Cape Fear 40; Freedom 38; Butler 34; Green Hope 31.5; East Gaston 29; Panther Creek 29; Laney 24.5; East Mecklenburg 24; Scotland County 24; Alexander Central 23; Leesville Road 23; Mallard Creek 19; Myers Park 19; Ardrey Kell 18.5; Wakefield 18.5; Northern Durham 18; North Forsyth 16; Ashbrook 14; Jh Rose 14; Southeast Raleigh 13.5; High Point Central 12; Hopewell 12; Person 12; Millbrook 9; South Caldwell 9; Grimsley 8.5; Mcdowell 6; Harding University 5; Smithfield-Selma 5; South Mecklenburg 5; East Wake 4; Berry Academy 3; Ee Smith 3; Jordan 3; New Hanover 3; Pinecrest 3; Weddington 3; West Charlotte 3; Athens Drive 2.5; Clayton 2; Fuquay Varina 2; Holly Springs 2; Knightdale 2; Terry Sanford 2; Wake Forest Rolesville 2; Westover 1; East Forsyth 0; Hoggard 0; Mount Tabor 0; North Mecklenburg 0; Southern Durham 0; West Mecklenburg 0