Bishop Mcguinness Leads Way

BUIES CREEK– Tanner Owen of Kernersville Bishop McGuinness has a two-shot lead over a cluster of six golfers after Monday’s first day of the 14th annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state 1-A men’s golf championships at the Keith Hills Country Club.
Owen shot an even par 72 to hold the top spot. The six golfers tied two shots off the lead include Erik Benson of Misenheimer Gray Stone Day, Patrick Cover of Mooresville Pine Lake Preparatory, Cody Hodges of Mount Airy, and Andrew London of Monroe’s Central Academy along with two other Bishop golfers, Stanhope Johnson and William Whitacre. 
The championship is being contested on a par-72, 6,625-yard layout for the NCHSAA event.
Bishop McGuinness roared to a big lead in the team standings after the first day, with a 29-stroke advantage over defending champion West Montgomery. McGuinness fired a 299 to 328 for West, with East Surry in third at 335.The best four of six individual scores count toward the team total.
Prior to 1986, all NCHSAA schools competed for a single title in an open tournament. Play went to three classifications in 1986 and then to four classes beginning with the 1998 tournaments.
A total of 84 golfers began play in the two-day tournament. Action will resume at eight o’clock on Tuesday morning.
Wendy’s is the presenting sponsor of the NCHSAA sports program.
Keith Hills Country Club, Buies Creek
Bishop McGuinness 299
West Montgomery 328
East Surry 335
Swain County 345
Lake Norman Charter 348
Riverside-Martin 349
Hendersonville 350
Rosewood 352
Midway 359
N.C. School of Science and Math 366
Raleigh Charter 370
Southwest Onslow 382
First Name Last Name School Score
Tanner Owen Bishop McGuinness 72
Erik Benson Gray Stone Day 74
Patrick Cover Pine Lake Prep 74
Cody Hodges Mount Airy 74
Stanhope Johnson Bishop McGuinness 74
Andrew London Central Academy 74
William Whitacre Bishop McGuinness 74
Colyn Petty Swain County 77
Dylan Kennedy West Montgomery 78
Ethan Sasser West Montgomery 78
Daniel Barrett Bishop McGuinness 79
Nick Adams Rosewood 80
Adam Capps Midway 81
Ty Hart Pender 81
Dustin Holder East Surry 81
Johnathan Lara NCSSM 81
Eli Sanchez Heide Trask 81
Jackson Wood Raleigh Charter 81
Brandon Conrad Bishop McGuinness 82
Sean Murphy Lake Norman Charter 82
Brian Sowinski Bishop McGuinness 82
Jordan Taylor West Montgomery 82
Ben Vogler East Surry 82
Logan Wynne Riverside-Martin 82
Morgan Reed Hendersonville 83
Alex English Mitchell 84
Drew Alley East Surry 85
Cameron Byrd Midway 85
Devin Laverdure Heide Trask 85
Danny Prevatte Southwest Onslow 85
Tyler Bryant Swain County 86
Gage Killian Murphy 86
Bret Robinson Rosewood 86
Braxton Squires Riverside-Martin 86
Ben Cattoni Lake Norman Charter 87
Nicholas Peavy NCSSM 87
Jordan Vogler East Surry 87
Jake Blum Lake Norman Charter 89
Jordan Edwards Spring Creek 89
Grant Hahn Hendersonville 89
Nick Lisle   Southwest Onslow 89
Elish Mahajan Raleigh Charter 89
Austin Moncrief Hendersonville 89
Alex Yarborough Hendersonville 89
Ross Goldbrum  Lake Norman Charter 90
Drew Harkins West Montgomery 90
Charlie Maness West Montgomery 90
Blake Weaver Rosewood 90
Cole West Riverside-Martin 90
Lloyd Blythe Swain County 91
Ben Cornblum Swain County 91
Keith Paggette Riverside-Martin 91
Whi t Ross Riverside-Martin 91
Walker Harrison West Montgomery 92
Joseph Marion East Surry 92
David Shaw Lake Norman Charter 93
Brandon Godwin Midway 95
Joey Kroeger NCSSM 95
Andrew Henn Rosewood 96
John Jackson Hendersonville 96
Brian Branch Raleigh Charter 97
Robbie Peterson Midway 98
Steve Welch Manteo 98
James Carson Swain County 100
Zach Hobbs Midway 100
Taylor Cowan Riverside-Martin 101
Zack Matics Southwest Onslow 102
Raymond Budi NCSSM 103
Kyle Sheats Raleigh Charter 103
Eric English Hendersonville 104
Gib Baker Lake Norman Charter 105
Eli Turlington NCSSM 105
Zach Barnard East Surry 106
Tristan Watty Swain County 106
Drew Williams Southwest Onslow 106
Dylan Zanikos Midway 107
Tyler Dean Rosewood 108
Amanda Dango NCSSM 110
Matt Gwynn Raleigh Charter 111
Jaz Verceles-Zara Rosewood 113
Sam Blake Southwest Onslow 122
Nick Mason Dixon DNS