North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Awards Given In NCHSAA Invitational Cheerleading Competition

                  RALEIGH— Ledford captured the Carolina Cup in the 12th annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state invitational cheerleading championships at the Raleigh Convention Center on Saturday night.

                  Cheer Ltd., Inc., the NCHSAA’s corporate partner that assists with the invitational championship, has established the Carolina Cup to recognize annually the top high school varsity cheerleading team in the state.   It goes to the varsity-level team that earns the highest cumulative score in the whole competition, regardless of the division in which it competes.

                Ledford recorded 127.20 points, the highest score of the entire event, to win the super large varsity division and also grab the Carolina Cup.

                Ledford had won the Cup once previously. Hough, Middle Creek, Raleigh Millbrook, Jamestown Ragsdale, Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons, North Gaston and Raleigh Sanderson are also previous winners of the Cup. 

                Asheville T.C. Roberson won the small varsity, with first place in the medium varsity to Apex, and Apex Middle Creek  winning the large varsity. The Greensboro Dudley varsity captured the high school non-mount division.

                Winner of the varsity co-ed division was Raleigh Leesville Road.

                Eastern Guilford was the winner in the small varsity non-tumble division, with North Buncombe winning in medium varsity non-tumble, South Lenoir finishing first in the large varsity non-tumble, and East Bend Forbush in super large varsity non-tumble.

                  In junior varsity divisions, Lumberton won the small jayvee non-tumble while Canton Pisgah took top honors in large non-tumble. Cary Panther Creek won the small JV while Raleigh Millbrook was the winner in the large JV division.

                  A total of 133 teams registered to participate in the event.




12th annual Invitational Cheerleading Championship

Raleigh Convention Center

November 15,2014


Final results: champions are listed, followed by the other competitors in order and point totals in each division.


Small junior varsity non tumble

                Champion— Lumberton 110.70.

                Eastern Guilford 108.20, Camden 105.80, SouthWest Edgecombe 105.00, Jacksonville 102.00, Western Harnett 99.70, West Columbus 95.30, Pembroke Purnell Swett 93.85, Hampstead Topsail 91.35, Charlotte Myers Park 88.00, South Brunswick 81.45, Farmville Central 77.10, Bunn 68.10.  


Large junior varsity non tumble

                  Champion— Canton Pisgah 109.90.

                  Fayetteville Jack Britt 99.75, Fuquay-Varina 98.00, South Columbus 97.90.


Small junior varsity

                  Champion—Cary Panther Creek 114.30.

                   Raleigh Broughton 106.55, Holly Springs 101.70, Cleveland 101.15, Apex 96.2, Corinth-Holders 96.05, Wake Forest Heritage 93.6, Harnett Central 89.35.


 Large junior varsity

                   Champion—Raleigh Millbrook 115.60.

                    Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 101.10, Wilmington Hoggard 99.20, Greenville D.H. Conley 98.30.


High school non-mount

                  Champion— Greensboro Dudley varsity 102.40.

                  Greensboro Dudley junior varsity 91.50.


Small varsity non tumble

                  Champion—Eastern Guilford 126.40.

                  Cherryville 123.15, North Gaston 115.90, North Johnston 103.95, Swain 101.60, Jamestown Ragsdale 100.15, Bunn 97.85, Pamlico 96.85.


Medium varsity non tumble

                  Champion— North Buncombe 121.05.

                  Western Harnett 105.25, West Columbus 104.90, West Stokes 104.55, SouthWest Edgecombe 104.55, Mitchell 104.50, Matthews David Butler 104.40, West Iredell 104.00, Hampstead Topsail 99.25, Camden 97.80, Wilmington Ashley 96.00, Chapel Hill 95.65, Farmville Central 93.40, Gates County 92.10, South Brunswick 90.30, Fairmont 87.30, Durham N.C. School of Science and Math 79.90, Goldsboro 72.00.  


Large varsity non tumble

                  Champion—South Lenoir 112.50.

                  Richlands 111.35, Cameron Union Pines 108.95, Southwest Onslow 106.15, Northside (Jacksonville) 104.80, Pembroke Purnell Swett 100.30, Princeton 100.00, Charlotte Independence 86.20.


Super large varsity non tumble

                  Champion— East Bend Forbush 124.25.

                  Elizabeth City Northeastern 123.65, Pinecrest 114.60, Asheville Erwin 113.85, Currituck 108.90, West Brunswick 101.90, South Columbus 101.70, Southern Wayne 99.95, Hobbton 99.25, North Pitt 98.95, Rocky Mount 98.75, Northern Durham 95.95, Canton Pisgah 89.75, Warren County 85.20.


Small varsity (5 to 12 members)

                  Champion—Asheville T.C. Roberson 114.15.

                  Maiden 111.80, Greensboro Grimsley 104.70, Durham Riverside 87.65.


Medium varsity (13 to 16 members)

                  Champion— Apex 122.00.

                  Cary Panther Creek 115.25, Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 115.20, Newport Croatan 113.15, Holly Springs 112.35, Indian Trail Porter Ridge 111.35, Huntersville Hopewell 110.90, Wake Forest Heritage 110.40, West Davidson 109.40, Cary Green Hope 108.95, Greenville D.H. Conley 108.55, White Oak 107.50, Harnett Central 107.40, Fuquay-Varina 106.20, Jacksonville 105.85, Charlotte Myers Park 102.85, Southeast Raleigh 102.15, Monroe Piedmont 100.60, Sun Valley 96.90, Monroe Parkwood 93.85, Charlotte Catholic 89.15, Swansboro 85.80.


Large varsity (17 to 20 members)

                  Champion— Apex Middle Creek 119.50.

                  Cornelius Hough 118.30, Southern Alamance 117.05, Raleigh Sanderson 111.95, Raleigh Millbrook 109.00, Wilmington Hoggard 108.45, Chocowinity Southside 106.30, Cleveland 104.60, Corinth-Holders 101.55, Wilson Beddingfield 100.65, Fayetteville Jack Britt 96.55, Lenoir Hibriten 94.65, Charlotte Providence 91.90.


Super large varsity (21-plus members)

                  Champion— Ledford 127.20.

                  Pikeville Charles B. Aycock 106.55, East Duplin 102.30, Overhills 101.65, Lumberton 100.90, Havelock 98.95, Forest Hills 92.20.


Varsity coed (2 to 4 males)

                  Champion—Raleigh Leesville Road 113.85.

                  Davie 109.80, South Caldwell 71.40.