Awards Given In NCHSAA Invitational Cheerleading Championships


       RALEIGH—Waxhaw Marvin Ridge won the super large varsity division in the ninth annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state invitational cheerleading championships at the Raleigh Convention Center on Saturday.

Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons earned the title in the large varsity division and Apex Middle Creek in the medium varsity, the two divisions with the most teams entered. Jamestown Ragsdale was the champion in the small varsity division.

In other varsity results, the non tumble categories went to East Bend Forbush in the large and Camden in the small.

Davie took top honors in the small varsity co-ed division while West Iredell was the winner of the large varsity co-ed competition.

       In junior varsity competition, Fuquay-Varina was the champion in the small junior varsity division while Cary Panther Creek took the large jayvee category and Camden, the only school winning more than one title on the day, won the junior varsity non-tumble division.

       A total of 120 teams registered to participate in the event.

       Cheer Ltd., Inc., the NCHSAA’s corporate partner that assists with the invitational championship, has also established the Carolina Cup to recognize annually the top high school varsity cheerleading team in the state.   It will go to the varsity-level team that earns the highest cumulative score in the whole competition, regardless of the division in which it competes. The winner of the Carolina Cup will be announced on Monday.

Ledford, Raleigh Millbrook, Jamestown Ragsdale, Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons, North Gaston and Raleigh Sanderson are the previous winners of the Carolina Cup.


9th annual Invitational Cheerleading Championship

Raleigh Convention Center

November 12, 2011

Final results: champions are listed, followed by the top runners-up and point totals in each division. Carolina Cup winner will be announced Monday, so scores of winners in varsity divisions are not listed.

Small junior varsity (5 to 15 members)

Champion— Fuquay-Varina (114.9)

Northwest Guilford (109.85), Weddington (107.2), Piedmont (102.7), Porter Ridge (98.5).


Large junior varsity (16 and up)

       Champion— Cary Panther Creek (120.7)

       Raleigh Millbrook (118.4), Lenoir Hibriten (114.55), Charlotte Catholic (113.7), Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons (112.15), South Lenoir (111.15), Holly Springs (108.05), Wilmington Hoggard (100.0).


Junior varsity non-tumble

       Champion— Camden (120.4)

       Canton Pisgah (114.05), Jamestown Ragsdale (113.15), Wilson Hunt (112.85), Lumberton (110.4), Havelock (108.45), Eastern Guilford (104.1), Southern Lee (99.25), Jacksonville White Oak (98.1), West Iredell (96.6), Fayetteville Pine Forest (96.0), Rocky Point Heide Trask (95.0), Richlands (84.55), Pamlico (84.15).

Small varsity non tumble

       Champion—Camden (TBA-Cup eligible)

       Overhills (114.65), Southwest Onslow (113.65), Swain (113.1), Eastern Guilford (112.35), Lincoln Charter (112.15), N.C. School of Science and Math (111.75), Oxford Webb (106.8), Rocky Point Heide Trask (102.65), Pamlico (92.6).

Large varsity non tumble

       Champion— East Bend Forbush (TBA-Cup eligible)

       Richlands (123.8), Canton Pisgah (122.75), Hampstead Topsail (121.1), Currituck (119.85, won tiebreaker), Elizabeth City Northeastern (119.85), Hope Mills Gray’s Creek (110.8), Southern Wayne (110.15), Franklinton (108.75), Fairmont (105.15), Rocky Mount (105.0), Southern Lee (104.7), East Mecklenburg (102.3), Havelock (101.35), West Wilkes (100.95), Pasquotank (100.65), Lejeune (98.8), Warren County (94.85).


Small varsity (5 to 12 members)

       Champion— Jamestown Ragsdale (TBA-Cup eligible)

       Fayetteville Pine Forest (111.5), Asheville A.C. Reynolds (101.8).


Medium varsity (13 to 16 members)

       Champion— Apex Middle Creek (TBA-Cup eligible)

       Charlotte Ardrey Kell (119.65), Asheville T.C. Roberson (118.85), Charlotte Hough (116.4), Cherryville (111.1), Jacksonville (110.65), Raleigh Millbrook (108.7), Swansboro (105.0), Fuquay-Varina (103.95), Maiden (101.85), Fayetteville Terry Sanford (98.65), Wilmington Hoggard (97.15), South Brunswick (96.85), Jacksonville White Oak (95.8), Monroe Piedmont (92.65), Wilson Hunt (91.2), West Davidson (84.6).


Large varsity (17 to 20 members)

       Champion— Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons (TBA-Cup eligible)

       Ledford (125.45), Panther Creek (123.25), Southern Alamance (116.05), Raleigh Sanderson (115.45), Harnett Central (115.15), Green Hope (110.8), Weddington (110.25), Cary (110.05), Porter Ridge (108.6), Kill Devil Hills First Flight (100.65), Wake Forest-Rolesville (100.15), Climax Providence Grove (99.75), Northside (Jacksonville) (95.5), Forest Hills (86.75).


Super large varsity (21-plus members)

       Champion— Waxhaw Marvin Ridge (TBA-Cup eligible)

       Holly Springs (119.25), Northwest Guilford (114.25), Greenville D.H. Conley (113.6), South Caldwell (109.35), Pikeville Charles B. Aycock (107.65), Knightdale (103.35), Fayetteville Jack Britt (100.9), West Brunswick (96.75), South Mecklenburg (91.35).


Small varsity coed (2 to 4 males)

       Champion— Davie County (TBA-Cup eligible)

       Lumberton (119.2), Enka (96.65), Raleigh Athens Drive (94.0).


Large varsity coed (more than 4 males)

       Champion— West Iredell (TBA-Cup eligible)

       Pembroke Purnell Swett (95.15).