North Carolina High School Athletic Association

Athletic Directors Organization Names Hall Of Fame Recipients

Three members have been named by the North Carolina Athletic Directors Association as the 12th class for induction in its own Hall of Fame.

The new NCADA Hall of Famers include Cheryl Brewer of Bennett, Mac Morris of Greensboro and Phil Weaver of Greensboro. The three will be recognized at the annual North Carolina Athletic Directors Association state conference at the Grove Park Inn with the Hall of Fame banquet scheduled for Tuesday, April 4.

The NCADA Hall of Fame has been established to recognize achievement and excellence for athletic administration. The inductees are honored at the NCADA’s annual state convention, and a permanent display honoring the athletic directors’ Hall of Fame is located in the offices of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association in Chapel Hill. The new class brings to 55 the number in the Hall.

This year’s inductees include:

Cheryl Brewer

Cheryl Brewer has had an outstanding career in athletic administration, primarily as athletic director and coach at North Moore High School, where she has been since 1978 except for a four-year stint as an assistant women’s basketball coach at Elon University.

She has coached softball and tennis for 18 years, women’s basketball for 14 and has also coached cross-country, golf and volleyball. A graduate of Chatham Central High School and Appalachian State University, she has spent a decade as an athletic administrator at North Moore and currently serves as a member of the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Athletic Directors Association.

She has been involved on a number of North Carolina High School Athletic Association committees and earned the NCHSAA’s Doris Howard Female Coach of the Year honor in 2004.

Mac Morris

Mac Morris was one of the state’s most successful head basketball coaches and has played a key role in the continued success of the North Carolina Coaches Association.

Morris has been clinic director of the NCCA since 1981, co-executive director since ‘87 and has over 30 years involvement with the organization. His primary duties involve helping to organize and run the highly successful yearly clinic in Greensboro, the largest multi-sport clinic of its kind in the country.

A native of Roxboro and a 1964 graduate of Davidson College, Morris won 75 percent of his games during his tenure as head men’s basketball coach at Greensboro Page, including state 4-A titles in 1979, ’83 and ’90., with the 1983 team ranked second in the nation. The gymnasium at Page bears his name.

Morris currently represents the NCCA on the NCHSAA Board of Directors.

Phil Weaver

Phil Weaver has had an excellent career as both a coach and an administrator with the North Carolina Coaches Association, serving as co-executive director of the NCCA along with Morris.

Weaver has served as the games director for the NCCA since 1981, co-executive director since ‘87 and has been involved with the NCCA for over 35 years. Those games include football, men’s and women’s basketball and men’s and women’s soccer. He has also filled various important roles with the North Carolina High School Athletic Association, including a term on the Board of Directors, serving on the Realignment Committee and serving as chairman of the NCHSAA Scholarship Committee while that program was operating.

A graduate of Duke, he has been a very successful coach at Grimsley in Greensboro, serving as head men’s basketball coach, head women’s basketball and head softball coach in addition to his role heading the counseling department at that school, in which he has served 25 years.

Weaver is presently serving as president of the National Organization of Coaches’ Association Directors.

Honorees in the charter class, inducted in 1995, included NCHSAA executive director Charlie Adams, former Charlotte-Mecklenburg director of athletics Dave Harris, Russ Blunt of Durham’s Hillside High School, long-time Greenville Rose athletic director and NCADA executive secretary Richard “Bud” Phillips; former High Point athletic administrator A.J. “Tony” Simeon, and Norma Harbin of Winston-Salem, the first female athletic director at a 4-A school in North Carolina.

Willie Bradshaw of Durham, Mike Brown of Wilmington, Jack Groce of Boone, Red Hoffman of Wilkesboro, Leon Brogden of Wilmington and Homer Thompson of Winston-Salem joined the Hall in 1996. The 1997 inductees included Ruth Pool of Durham, Bill Eutsler of Rockingham, Shu Carlton of Gastonia, Gilbert Ferrell of Wilson and Thell Overman of Wallace, while in ’98 the Hall welcomed Jim Blake of Durham, Wat Holyfield of Raleigh, Carroll King of Raleigh, Benny Pearce of Fayetteville, Jerry McGee of Elizabeth City and Dudley Whitley of Rocky Mount.

The 1999 inductees were Dave Johnson of Charlotte, Glenn Nixon of Clayton, Bob Sawyer of Greensboro and George Whitfield of Greenville, while in 2000 Don Patrick of Newton-Conover, Bill Carver of Fayetteville and Simon Terrell of Chapel Hill joined the Hall.

The 2001 inductees included Carl Bolick of Charlotte, Herman Bryson of Winston-Salem, Ed Peeler of Shelby and Chip Gill of Durham. The 2002 honorees were Dick Knox of Chapel Hill, Jack Musten of Winston-Salem, Don Saine of Gastonia and Sue Shinn of High Point.

In 2002 Tim Brayboy of Cary, Hilda Worthington of Farmville, Roger Thrift of New Bern, Spike Corbin of Wilmington and Richard Murray of Ahoskie were inducted. The 2003 honorees included Mac Cumbo of East Flat Rock, Boyce Dietz of Bryson City, Roger Dixon currently of Myrtle Beach, SC., Debbie Jones of Charlotte and Jim Hayes of Charlotte. Last year’s induction class included Alton “Tunney” Brooks of Lumberton, Paul Gay of Sanford, Joel Long of Raleigh and Dave Thomas of Goldsboro.