Association Spotlight: Toby Webb Coach Of The Year Award

Established in 2005 through the NCHSAA Endowment Fund and generous donations from Toby Webb supporters, the Toby Webb Coach of the Year Award recognizes two outstanding coaches annually, one male and one female. 
This award seeks to honor coaches who have had an impact on the lives of student-athletes, and students in general, by encouraging them to succeed, helping to develop self-confidence, ambition, a sound work ethic, and other skills necessary for success in the students’ later lives. Furthermore, the coaches shall have a record of encouraging student-athletes to be well-rounded (i.e. displaying excellence in areas of scholarship, citizenship, music, etc.). 
Finally, the coaches shall have a reputation amongst their respective peers and the athletic community for fair play, good sportsmanship, and the development of these attributes in their respective student-athletes.
Each ‘Coach of the Year’ recipient will receive a $2,000 cash award and commemorative plaque and will be recognized at the NCHSAA Annual Meeting. 
Nominations will be accepted from peers and reviewed by a special selection committee based on criteria set forth by Coach Toby Webb.
Deadline for schools to submit nominations for the female Toby Webb Coach of the Year award has been extended to January 31, 2012.
Toby Webb “Coach of the Year” Award Past Recipients
2006:      Hal Capps, Western Alamance High School 
               Carolyn Rogers, Perquimans High School 
2007:      Patty Evers, East Bladen High School 
               Mickey Lineberger, South Point High School. 
2008:      Cindi Simmons, Smoky Mountain High School
               Tom Evaul, Avery County High School
2009:      Vickie Peoples, Enloe High School
               Norman Trzaskoma, R.J. Reynolds High School
2010:      Debra Philyaw, Jones Senior High School
               John Moon, Eastern Alamance High School
2011:      Zoe Bell, Ardrey Kell High School
               Ray Horton, Pender High School