Adams Wins Honor From National Football Foundation And College Hall Of Fame

CHAPEL HILL—Charlie Adams, executive director of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association, has received a prestigious honor.

The Triangle Chapter of North Carolina of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame named Adams winner of the Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football award.

The presentation was made on Monday night at the chapter’s 12th annual awards dinner, held this year at the Smith Center on the campus of the University of North Carolina.

Adams, who has been on the NCHSAA staff since 1967 and executive director since 1984, has enjoyed a stellar career as an athlete, coach and administrator. Several changes have been made during his time as NCHSAA executive director that have been great for high school football, such as playing the state championships at neutral-site college facilities.

In addition, a total of 18 high school football scholar-athletes were recognized from the Triangle area and received scholarships donated from various sources.

Those honorees from NCHSAA member schools included Mark Kaufman of Apex, Andrew John Bertolozzi of Athens Drive, Lee Browne of Broughton, Trevor Dixon of Cary, Kyle Peterson of Chapel Hill, Blake Murray of East Wake, Nick DeBarmore Jr. of Enloe, Zach Powell of Fuquay-Varina, Colby Holloway of Garner, Vincent Arnone of Green Hope, Evan Christopher Wilson of Hillside, Matt McKeon of Leesville Road, David Muse of Middle Creek, Chase Hester of Northern Durham, Calvin Dewayne Lea of Riverside, David Jackson of Sanderson, and Travis Jones of Wake Forest-Rolesville.

Founded in 1947, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame is dedicated to mobilizing the constructive forces of amateur football, at all levels, for the benefit of society as a whole, helping bring together all of the organized groups that play, coach, administer, support and report amateur football.