Jul 31, 2018

A man who has given 51 years of service to the Southeastern Athletic Officials Association is hanging up the whistle. Arnold Pope, a preacher in Roanoke Rapids, has decided to retire from the avocation of officiating after a 60 year career calling various games at the collegiate and high school levels. 

Jul 25, 2018

Long-time NCHSAA official and regional supervisor, Bill Freeman, passed away last week. Freeman was chosen as an NCHSAA’s Golden Whistle Award winner in 2011 which honors officials who demonstrate leadership, performance, service and training for the betterment of officials, possessing officiating abilities emulated by fellow officials and being regarded as a person of integrity and character. 

Jul 24, 2018

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (July 24, 2018) — The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) has now delivered more than seven million online education courses through its NFHS Learning Center at 

Jun 29, 2018

Mr. Butch Whitesell, 70, of Houston Loop, Taylorsville, passed away June 27, 2018 at Catawba Regional Hospice.

Mr. Whitesell was born June 25, 1948 in Greensboro, NC, the son of the late Harvey Whitesell and Frances Moore Whitesell.

Jun 18, 2018

CHAPEL HILL – The North Carolina High School Athletic Association in conjunction with Wells Fargo released the final standings in the 39thannual Wells Fargo Cup competitions for the 2017-18 academic year. The award recognizes the high schools that achieve the best overall interscholastic athletic performance within each of the state’s four competitive classifications.

Jun 18, 2018

The North Carolina High School Athletic Association, along with Wells Fargo, has announced the final standings in the Wells Fargo Conference Cup competitions for the 2017-2018 sports season.

The Wells Fargo Cup award, sponsored by Wells Fargo, recognizes the schools that achieve the best overall interscholastic athletic performance within each of the state’s four competitive classifications. 

Jun 14, 2018

Media, an email went out to all on our email list letting you all know that the credential window for Year-Long NCHSAA Media Credentials is now open. Please read the note below concerning the process and timelines. Contact James Alverson ( with any questions you may have concerning these credentials.

Jun 5, 2018

Chapel Hill, N.C. – Moe’s Southwest Grill locations in the Triangle, in conjunction with the North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA), have selected Lydia Bjorklund from Heritage High School in Wake Forest, N.C., Robby White of Cary High School in Cary, N.C., and Trent Wilson from Wakefield High School in Raleigh, N.C., as recipients of the Moe’s Hometown Hero award for the month of May.

Jun 1, 2018

RALEIGH – The Jack Britt Buccaneers returned to Dail Softball Stadium for game three of the 4A Softball Championship Series with South Caldwell just one day after being no-hit in game two by the Spartans Anna King.

Jun 1, 2018

3A Softball Championship: Alexander Central stuns Cleveland with three in seventh to force extras and takes series with 6-4 win in 11 innings

GREENSBORO – Alexander Central claimed the school’s sixth fast-pitch state championship as they stormed back from three runs down in the final inning to knock off Cleveland 6-4 in eleven innings. 

Jun 1, 2018

2A Softball Championship: South Granville sweeps Franklin with 7-0 win in Game 2

Jun 1, 2018

1A Softball Championship: Alleghany comes from behind to down Louisburg 3-2 in extras and sweep the series

Jun 1, 2018

4A Baseball Championship: Fuquay-Varina slugs way to 10-6 victory over Ardrey Kell and second state title

ZEBULON – Fuquay-Varina pounded out 13 hits in the decisive game three of the 4A Baseball State Championship Series as the Bengals slugged their way to a 10-6 victory over Ardrey Kell and the program’s second state championship. 

Jun 1, 2018

3A Baseball Championship: New Hanover sweeps Crest with a 2-1 game two victory

BURLINGTON – The New Hanover Wildcats claimed their third state championship since play went to four classifications in 1960 with a 2-1 win in game two of the 3A Baseball State Championship. The Wildcats swept the series with the win, earning their first title since back-to-back 4A Championships in 1993 and 1994.