North Carolina High School Athletic Association

8 Who Make A Difference Awards Given By NCHSAA

CHAPEL HILL– Eight “coaches who make a difference” by virtue of their exemplary sportsmanship will be honored by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association at the NCHSAA’s Annual Meeting on May 4 at the Fletcher Opera Theatre at the Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts in Raleigh.

The coaches have been selected for the Homer Thompson Memorial Eight Who Make a Difference award. The award is named in honor of the late Homer Thompson, the long-time Winston-Salem Parkland coach and member of the NCHSAA Hall of Fame.

“It is fitting that Homer Thompson’s name be affixed to an award about coaches who make a difference,” says NCHSAA executive director Charlie Adams, “for Homer certainly did make a difference in the lives of many and truly was an outstanding role model.”

The winners were chosen by a special committee based on nominations from the member schools. They will receive a plaque from NCHSAA assistant executive director Mark Dreibelbis as part of the Association’s student services program.

Coaches receiving this honor for 2005-06 include the following:

East Bladen head women’s basketball and softball coach Patty Evers

Alexander Central assistant football coach and athletic director Tom Harper

Pasquotank head men’s basketball coach and athletic director Robert Woodley

Bishop McGuinness head women’s basketball and assistant softball coach Brian Robinson

South Stanly head softball , assistant football and assistant basketball coach David Poplin

Gastonia Ashbrook head wrestling, assistant football and women’s track coach Billy Eccles

Hendersonville head football coach B.J. Laughter

Davie County head men’s basketball coach Mike Absher

Each school had the opportunity to nominate one of its coaches for this award. “These coaches provide excellent role models with their positive approach,” says Adams.

GlaxoSmithKline, a long-time supporter of the NCHSAA, underwrites the recognition for high school coaches, along with the NCHSAA’s annual Sportsmanship Awards to member schools.