North Carolina High School Athletic Association

2023-2024 Jerry McGee Scholarship Winners

The Jerry McGee Endowed Scholarship was created in memory of Jerry McGee for his 25+ years of service as executive director of the North Carolina Athletic Directors’ Association (NCADA). Jerry had a passion for making dreams a reality. Thus, the NCADA Board of Directors felt that offering a scholarship to two senior-year high school student-athletes from North Carolina High School Athletic Association member schools each year would be a fitting way to honor his legacy. This award is unique because it honors both male and female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves by overcoming adversity and returned to excel beyond expectations in their scholastic athletic sport(s).

The NCADA Awards Committee will select recipients with approval by the NCADA Executive Board.

The winners of the 2023-24 Scholarships are: Tyler Strickland from South Johnston High School, Brisa Hawthorne from Independence High School, Brandon Clapp from Eastern Guilford High School and Morgan Hall from Midway High School.

The Jerry McGee Endowed Scholarships will be presented during the NCADA Breakfast on the third Tuesday in July in Greensboro, NC. Each recipient will receive a $2,000 scholarship award and a commemorative plaque.